jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 05.10.2010 Edition May 10, 2010

Posted by Toy Lady in random stuff.
Tags: ,
trackback

Where does the time go?

PhotobucketFor that matter, where did the May weather go?  It was just a few days ago, we were at the beach, splish-splashing.  Then, on Mother’s Day, Mother’s Day, mind you, we wake up to . . .

SNOW?

Really?  In May?  That is just so wrong.

Photobucket

How about another fun installment of “Shopping With Peeps!”

PhotobucketThis week, we decided to check out a new supermarket in our area.  It’s not really in our neighborhood, but it’s certainly close enough where, if there’s a decent sale, it’s worth the extra couple of miles. . .

Though I must say, the huge case of “Frozen Bulk Fish” kind of took me by surprise.

$2.99 a pound is certainly a great price, but, um, “bulk fish?”   Peeps tells me he saw tags at least naming some of the bulk fishes, but still.

I will say – I DO NOT eat fish that still has its face, frozen or not. I’m just saying. . . you’ve gotta draw the line somewhere, and my line is when my dinner looks back at me.

Photobucket

The bromance continues.

Photobucket

Our neighbors, the Harley Family, spend several weekends every summer camping, and, of course, they take their Thunder with them.  Poor old Jarly gets so lonely – he typically spends most of those Sundays watching out the window waiting for his buddy to get home.

It’s actually kind of fun to watch him get SO excited when Thunder is home, or, on the off chance Jarly misses him, Thunder will come dashing up to the back door looking for him.

I just wish they didn’t need to pee on my clematis vine every time, that’s all.

Photobucket

Photobucket

I did a search a couple of months ago to confirm my gardening “zone” – you know, which plants I can grow, and when, and what it’s just too cold for.  I haven’t done that since I started gardening here in Greece – after all, it’s only an hour from where I used to live – how much different can it be, right?

Well, it turns out that I’m half a zone warmer here than I was there – I’m in zone “5b” which, basically, means that I can plant my “after danger of frost” plants 2 weeks earlier than I used to!  Woo hoo – I don’t have to wait for Memorial Day!

So this weekend, I got some tomatoes, basil, and several other herbs.  I’ll be getting those in the ground over the next couple of weeks.

Photobucket

Photobucket

There’s an old folks’ home retirement community with a “pond” just about 2 miles from us, and this weekend, we the first crop of baby goslings.  . .

We stopped to get more pictures, but then I got too close, and Mama Goose didn’t appreciate it.  I’ve been on the receiving end of a hacked off goose before, and, well, it’s not pretty.

So we just left.  But – Fuzzy Baby Geese!

Photobucket

Photobucket

There’s a house, several blocks from us.  This house has the most spectacular show, all summer long.

And it always starts with the gorgeous deep purple irises – they’re just absolutely stunning.

And the coolest part is that the entire yard is full of flowers – they don’t even have to mow!

I can’t wait to see what’s next.

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan. What a change from last week, huh?  The forecast doesn’t call for, really, any late-spring/summer temperatures until the weekend, so until then, we’ll have to make do with cooler-weather ideas.

Photobucket

Monday – I picked up a bunch of split chicken breasts this weekend, so it’s a simple matter to have boneless, skin-ON chicken – and we so loved the roasted chicken breasts that we did a while ago.  I also got some cardoons at the public market, so . . . chicken and a new vegetable!

Tuesday – Pork fried rice, using some of the Chinese barbecued pork we still have in the freezer, will be a great, quick dinner.  Add some frozen peas and fresh spring onions, and it’s a complete meal.

Wednesday – It’s swim night, and still chilly, so we’ll be enjoying soup night!  This week, though, we’ve still got some ramps, so we’re going to try a potato and ramp soup.  Peeps will also bring some bread home from work to finish the meal.

Thursday – We pulled some beef tenderloin tips out of the freezer – and I got some fresh broccoli at the market, so Peeps is going to toss together a stir-fried beef and broccoli that we haven’t had in several years – it used to be one of our favorites!

Friday – It’s pizza night!  Besides pizza for the grownups, I’m expecting a new toy to arrive for Jarly – his treat-stuffed toys keep him busy while we relax and enjoy our pizza and catch up on some TV.

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. mazco34 - May 10, 2010

Bear decided to water my clematis one day. The next time he tried, I had a referee’s whistle with me.

He hasn’t peed on it since.

Well. . . this is more like a, um, peeing contest. One pees on something, then the other feels the need to pee MORE on the same thing.

I think they can’t help themselves.

2. Anne - May 10, 2010

About that Zone 5b thing, three words: Snow. In. May.

We have babies at our local lake, too. Ducklets and gooslets. Or is that gooselets? Some years we get swanlets, but I’m not sure if our swan is still around. His/her mate got .. um .. gone, and it’s sketchy whether another companion is in residence.

We can do without the snakelets.

Well, maybe it was more like . . . fluffy rain. yeah, that’s it.

And have you ever seen squirrelets? ‘Cause I sure haven’t. 😕


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

