jump to navigation

I’m Not Really Artsy May 11, 2010

Posted by Toy Lady in random stuff.
Tags: , ,
trackback

I’m not sure I understand abstract art – especially Cubism.

Photobucket Sure, often the colors are great and just what a room needs.

And I’m sure it all makes sense, in a weird, artistic, and possibly drug-addled way, but  I just don’t really get it.

I mean let’s face it – you can’t tell me that Picasso wasn’t on something here, can you?

Hey, at least the surrealists had the “real” part going for them, you know?  Cubists – not so much.  I’m just saying.

Oh, hey, wait a minute.

Photobucket

Not Cubism – CUBAN.

Whoops.  I guess it’s been a long day. . .

So yeah.

Have you ever had a Cuban sandwich?  I haven’t.  From what I understand, a Cubano involves  pork roast, ham, Swiss cheese, a roll and grilling and pressing, similar to panini, I’m thinking.

Photobucket

Then, along came the most recent issue of Cuisine at Home.

You know, I’ve been subscribing to that magazine for years – years! – and we’ve cooked very little from it until this year.  We’ve made a conscious decision to cook at least one thing from each issue of each of the magazines to which we subscribe.

You know, that’s not as easy as it sounds!  A lot of times, something in a magazine will sound fabulous – to one of us.

PhotobucketOr it’ll look great, only it involves a trip to this store to get one thing, and a different store for something else, or maybe just a lot of fussing around that, let’s face it, who wants to deal with that on a Tuesday?

Yeah, me neither.

But this one – Cubano-style burgers – well, we’ll do burgers any time!

Photobucket

So we started with a couple of pounds of ground pork (you could go with turkey if you have issues with pork) (we like pork), and while Peeps was shaping half a dozen burgers, I was mixing up a quick relish – some mustard, sweet pickle relish, minced onion, jarred jalapeno peppers and a splash of honey.

Trust me.

Oh, and fresh onion rolls.  (I LOVE those onion rolls and will gladly use them for burgers anyway!)

Photobucket

And that’s about it – grill your burgers, and when they’re about done, lay a slice of ham and a slice of Swiss cheese on top and let it get melty.

(The cheese, not the ham.  I don’t think I want to know what melty ham looks like.)

A spoonful of the mustard-relish stuff, and there you go.

We should probably have toasted the rolls, too, but, um, we forgot.

Besides, it would be kind of a shame to toast away that bready freshness, wouldn’t it?

Here’s a printable version – this was so simple and so good!

Comments

1. judy - May 11, 2010

yum….looks and sounds good. grilling is good!

Thanks, Jude! It was surprisingly good – given how dead easy it was!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

