jump to navigation

Corn Chowder: yeah, that’s seasonal May 26, 2010

Posted by Toy Lady in Cooking, Eating Down the Fridge, Freezer Meals, random stuff, soupe du semaine.
trackback

What do you think of when you think of corn chowder?

Wind and snow, big heavy wool sweaters?

Maybe relaxing in front of a roaring fireplace after a hard day of skiing?

PhotobucketYou probably don’t think much of corn chowder when it’s 80 degrees and sunny, with Memorial Day weekend fast upon you, do you?

Yeah, I used to think the same way, then I found this recipe for Chicken Corn Chowder on one of my morning blogs, Sisters’ Cafe, and I thought “hey, I’ve got just about everything on hand to do . . . something similar to that.”

PhotobucketSo don’t think of this corn and sweet potato chowder as a cold-weather winter dish.

Think of it as a clearing-out-the-freezer soup.

We’re getting ready for the new season!

Sure, I don’t keep Jiffy corn muffin mix around, but what I do always have on hand is everything to make a copycat version.

And of course, we have onions.  And garlic, cumin and oregano, too.

Photobucket

Sweet potatoes?  Check.

I had a couple of sweet potatoes I found, buried under the regular potatoes, and they needed to get used up.  I, um, don’t remember exactly how old they were.

Still good; they can go in the pot too.

PhotobucketWe roasted a couple of turkey breasts a while ago, and, since two people  can only eat just so much turkey, we froze three of the four breast halves.  (One is earmarked for hot turkey sandwiches.  The rest. . . whatever.)

Turns out, roasted turkey worked out quite nicely here.

Photobucket

We had just made a mess of chicken stock – probably the last time for a while that I’m going to want stock simmering on the stovetop all day, huh?  Not to mention the fun of pressure canning – summer’s here, and we don’t need that, do we?

For as cold as it gets in the winter, it’s certainly plenty warm – and humid – in the summer around here!

Photobucket

What I found really neat about this chowder was the method of thickening.

Remember the Jiffy corn muffin mix that wasn’t?

That gets mixed with a couple (three) cups of milk, kind of like (not kind of – exactly like) a slurry.

Well, it makes sense – it’s got the flour, plus the corniness of corn meal – and a little salt and baking powder won’t hurt anything.

Photobucket

And, just in case the muffin mix won’t provide enough thickening power, we melted a cup of Monterey Jack cheese into the chowder, too.  Melty cheese can’t help thickening!

Dump in some frozen corn (bonus points if it’s corn you grilled last summer and froze!), plus a bit of parsley, and you’re good to go.

Photobucket

Now, while this may look like a cold-weather, winter staple, it’s really a spring is here, let’s make room in the freezer, lighter meal.  Because we’re using frozen corn (rather than canned creamed corn), and lowfat milk (1% here) rather than cream, this soup is much lighter and fresher tasting than you’d expect.

What do you find when you dig around in your freezer?

Comments

1. Barb Cooper - May 26, 2010

Wow, that looks good! I’m so making this. And I’m the girl that made split pea soup every week for a year when Jane was tiny, had no teeth and was dairy intolerant. I don’t believe in seasonal soup, except that if it’s super hot, I find that I will eat just about any soup cold.

Oh, and to answer your question: No, the mailbox was imaginary, too. But I’ll still take the (heart) if I may!

So tell me, does you Jane still eat split pea soup?

And of course I still (heart) you! Even imagining such a thing is brilliant!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

