jump to navigation

The Job’s Not Over June 2, 2010

Posted by Toy Lady in random stuff.
trackback

. . . till the paperwork’s done.  Isn’t that what they say?

PhotobucketDo you remember when the “warehouse clubs” first started getting popular, back in the 80s and the 90s?  And how one of the more disparaging comments to be heard about them involved buying a year’s worth of toilet paper at one time?

Just what constitutes a year’s worth of toilet paper, anyway?  I suspect that, now that there are just the two of us, 30 rolls should come pretty close, shouldn’t it?

I don’t know – how long should, um, 30,000 sheets last, anyway?  Anyone want to start a pool?

I am almost embarrassed.  Almost.

See, here’s the story.

I used to just buy whatever was on sale, like most of the rest of the world. I’d buy a 4-pack of this and a 6-pack of that. . . and that was fine.

But you know what I discovered?  The softer and fluffier the paper was, the quicker it ran out.

And there’s very little worse than running out of toilet paper.  And I’m just saying what we all know.

And then Surly Boy started using a lot of toilet paper.  I mean a LOT.  I really don’t know quite why, and as a mother, that concerned me, on so many levels. . . then I just decided not to think about it.  It’s better that way.  Trust me.

La la la la I don’t want to know.

It was terribly annoying, to be sure,  to run out without warning – I took to keeping a box of Kleenex stashed in the bathroom for “just in case.”  I had trained him to replace the roll, but getting him to actually put it on the shopping list took a little longer.

So I, being the problem-solving sort of person I am, looked for a solution.

Round about then, I noticed that one brand of toilet tissue came in colors.  Hmmm. . . pretty.

Say.  What if I routinely bought rolls of, say, blue or pink paper, and one roll of white?  When the colored paper was all gone, we’d switch to the white.   When you’re using the white paper instead of the normal soft pastels, surely you’ll remember to put it on the shopping list, and, with a 1000-sheet roll, you’ve got a few days of wiggle-room.

And that, my friends, worked like a charm.  For years. Years!  It was simple, it was obvious, yet discreet, and it needed minimal, if any, explanation.  Colored TP – we’re good.  White TP, put it on the shopping list.  How much simpler can it get?

Not much, that’s for sure.

Until the particular paper company, the one company that made colored paper, discontinued its production at the beginning of this year, and it became impossible to get.

Um, seriously?

Now what?

Here’s the problem with a flawless plan like mine.

When one piece, in this case, the only piece, is out of place, it all goes down the tubes, so to speak.

Not so flawless after all.

Photobucket

After a couple of close calls (don’t ask), we knew we had to figure out something.

But what?  Desperate as I may be, I still refuse to buy imported TP at a rate of $3 a roll.  Three dollars!  Not for. . . well, you know.

So we took a trip to our warehouse club and stocked up.  And it may just last us a year, too.

So I guess we can just worry about it next year.

Comments

1. judy - June 2, 2010

🙂 love the play on words. It is best to be prepared as we never know how it is going to end. ha ha ha

Exactly! 😆


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

