jump to navigation

Summer time again June 4, 2010

Posted by Peeps in Cooking, Home, random stuff.
trackback

The warm weather is here, and it’s about time to start enjoying it.  And one of the ways I do that is playing with my smoker.

Now, I know I’ve mentioned my love of barbecue once or twice before.  I do tend to go a little overboard when I enjoy something.  And during the winter months, when it’s way too cold to keep the proper temperature for barbecue, the fact that the freezer was full of last summer’s excesses allowed for smokey goodness all winter long.

Alas, all of that is gone now.  So, it’s getting to be time to fill up the freezer for next winter.  Plus, I have other plans.

I’ve already had the small smoker unit out a few times to keep trying to perfect bacon.  And I think I’ve got it down now.  So, making lots of good, home-made bacon is going to be a serious plan.  Besides, Toys wants to make the completely-from-scratch BLT once her tomatoes start coming in.

The other thing I plan to work on is sausage.  I’ve had some success with making both Italian and breakfast sausage since we got the meat grinder.  But I never stuffed casings with it.  Until last week.  That’s something I need to practice.  And since the herb garden is growing like mad, making a bunch of various kinds of sausage should not be too much of a problem.  I’m even planning, if I can figure out a way to rig it, on smoking some sausage, Texas style.  They’ll have to hang, rather than sit on the grates of the smoker.  But I’m good at jury rigging things.  I’ll manage, somehow.

So, all in all, it looks as though in between summer time household projects that need to get done, I’m going to be spending a good deal of time cleaning pork fat off my hands.  Such a shame.  I can hardly wait.

Comments

1. mazco34 - June 4, 2010

Remember all those times when I told you that I had grilled and you responded with, “I hate you.”

Well, “I hate you.”

Peeps - June 4, 2010

I remember it well. But you’re always welcome to stop by. I always smoke plenty of food.

2. judy - June 4, 2010

sounds pretty yummy. i know hope you enjoy every step of the process!

Peeps - June 4, 2010

I plan to enjoy as much as I can, thanks.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

