jump to navigation

Candles and the Burning Thereof June 15, 2010

Posted by Toy Lady in random stuff.
Tags: ,
trackback

It’s that time of the year again – candle time!  And boy, that’s a lot of candles, isn’t it?   Wow – someone must be pretty old, huh?

Photobucket

But I’m not actually talking about birthdays – after all, everyone has one of those, and they have a disturbing way of coming back year after year.  After year.

No, I’m talking about burning that proverbial candle in general, and at both ends, in particular.

Peeps mentioned the other day that things have been a little hectic lately.  It gets like that around this time of the year – Mon Capitán‘s practice involves a lot of end-of-the-fiscal-year activity right about now, which means a lot of extra work for everyone in the office – especially me!

And poor Peeps – as the weather gets warmer, he has the singular fun of standing in front of a hot oven for the better part of a day.  And not just any oven – oh no!  A heavy-duty commercial bread oven.

Given the choice, I’ll take the attorney.

I’m sure by now you’re wondering what I’m blathering on about, aren’t you?

See, here’s the thing.  We’re not as young as we used to be, and I don’t know about you, but that whole candle thing?

Well, I find that it burns out a lot earlier than it used to.  So to speak.

Don’t get me wrong – I’m not actually going anywhere – perish the thought!

I’m just warning you that, for the next couple of weeks or so, well, you may not enjoy the quality of posts that you’ve grown used to here.  (Ha!)  I’ll certainly do my very best, and it shouldn’t last too long, and, well, I’ve got plenty of great intentions, but, you know, those extra-long days, they start very early, and they do get to me after a while.

Before long, I fear I may be reduced to barely-intelligible rambling, and I just hope you’d notice.

(Heck, I hope I’d notice and post a YouTube video or something!)

So, I guess where I’m going with this is, well, um, pretty much nowhere.

I’m not actually going anywhere – no “break” or “blogging vacation” or anything like that.  Just . . . a little less free time, so things – all of them – will likely be condensed a bit, that’s all.

Imagine that – me, brief and to the point.  It’ll be kind of fun.

Comments

1. judy - June 15, 2010

Ok…. you speak wise words. Just take care of what is at the top of your lists. Both of you. Hugs and pats and scratches to all. j

Hey, Judy. Thanks. You know, you’d think, after all these years, I’d be used to this. At least I’m not still working weekends all summer. . .


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

