jump to navigation

How to Make an Egg-cellent Omelette June 16, 2010

Posted by Toy Lady in random stuff.
trackback

Hee hee – get it?  Egg-cellent?  Oh, I do crack myself up sometimes!

So, let’s say you’re tired, hungry, and broke.  Oh, and you’ve got some stuff hanging around in the fridge that you really ought to use up.

Work with me here.  Imagine that you’re tired and hungry, anyway, OK?  That shouldn’t be too much of a stretch.

Kind of the way Peeps typically is when he gets home from work on Saturday afternoons.

PhotobucketSo, unless I have something really, really cool planned, what I typically do on Saturdays is scrounge around the refrigerator and find something that will keep him from slipping into a starvation coma before it’s time to walk the dog – something like scrambled eggs,  I guess.

I see an omelette as, essentially, gussied-up scrambled eggs.  You just put a little something extra in your eggs, whether it’s just cheese, or broccoli, or onions and peppers and ham, it all starts the same way.  With the eggs.

The first time I made omelettes for Peeps, he was astounded.  (Though I will say – he’s always been easily impressed, no matter what he says.)  (Yes he is.)

PhotobucketI’ve never actually seen my technique for omelettes anywhere else – and I don’t know why not.  It’s really good.

You want to start with some leftover “stuff”  from the fridge – not too much, though – just a bit of this and a little of that.  We used some pork souvlaki, feta cheese and, for me, some chopped tomato.

Photobucket

Depending on how hungry you are, scramble up two or three eggs with a splash of milk – maybe a tablespoon or so of milk per egg – it’s not an exact science.  (Who’s surprised by that?)  Melt a tablespoon of butter in a small-ish non-stick pan, then, when the butter is foaming, dump your eggs in and swirl them around so they just cover the bottom.

Photobucket

You’re going to want to work fairly quickly – eggs cook fast, you know?

So once your eggs are spread out on the bottom of the pan, sprinkle your fillings on the eggs – not too much stuff, and not too thickly.

Oh, and mainly on one half of the eggy bed.  Trust me.

PhotobucketYou don’t have to be obsessive about where the “half” is – just keep the bulk of your fillings on one side.

Then turn the flame to low and slap a lid on the pan.

THAT is my secret on how to get the filling hot, the cheese melted and the eggs cooked, all at the same time.

Don’t tell, OK?

Photobucket

After about 5 minutes, if your cheese is melted (yes, it’s hard to tell with feta, which is why I sprinkled a little mozzarella in, too –  for stringy meltiness) and your eggs are set, your fillings should be hot (assuming you didn’t get carried away and put too much stuff in there!).

Simply slide the omelette onto a plate (Remember? You buttered a non-stick pan – ain’t nothin’ sticking to that!) then just flip the non-filled side of the egg over on the filing.

PhotobucketAnd what we have is an omelette!

Feel free to use whatever fillings you have on hand – it really doesn’t matter what you use as long as it’s something you enjoy.  It doesn’t even have to be a traditional “omelette” filling – as I think I’ve demonstrated quite nicely with my pork souvlaki and feta cheese.

The main thing to remember is restraint – less is more.

Comments

1. Cristina - June 16, 2010

Wow! That sounds delicious. I don’t know why I never thought of using feta in an omelette before. I loved the pictures and your writing style. You cracked me up. Pun intended.

I know exactly what you mean about some people’s tastes being just like yours. Many times I’ve read someone’s menu plan and thought, “that sounds great, but it’s probably not something I’d make.” It’s rare that I come across a menu that looks like I could’ve put it together myself.

Thanks, Cristina! Do give the omelette a try – I think you’ll be happy with it. 🙂


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

