jump to navigation

June Third Thursday: Risotto Again June 17, 2010

Posted by Toy Lady in random stuff.
trackback

Photobucket

It’s already the third week of June!  You know, this time of year is super busy for most of us, isn’t it?  We’ve got the end of the school year (for those of us with school years, that is) and the garden and the beach. . . but we’ve still got to eat, don’t we?

Marxfoods.com is giving away 2lbs of fresh morels!Now before I tell you about his month’s borrowed blog, I want to mention Marx Foods.  (I’m not advertising or anything for them.  I’m just sharing.)  They have the COOLEST STUFF!  (Which Peeps will be telling you more about tomorrow.)  And they’re also sponsoring a giveaway of 2 pounds of fresh morel mushrooms which I didn’t want you to miss out on.   I’m just saying – click on the picture above to be taken to the contest if you’re at all interested.

PhotobucketOK, back to your regularly scheduled Thursday.   A while back I added A Good Appetite to the regular rotation.  Kat and Matt are a young Minnesota couple, I think, much like Peeps and me, if we were, you know, young.  YoungER, I mean.

Photobucket

I love that they blog about local in-season stuff – and really, Minneapolis isn’t that far removed from Rochester, climate-wise anyway, which means, pretty much, that whatever they’ve got, we’ve got.  For the most part.

Except hotdish.  Though I’m not really sure if there is a season for that. . .

Photobucket

So anyway.  Toward the end of ramp season (both here and there), Kat posted her recipe for a risotto with leeks, broccoli and black beans.  And we happened to have several leeks, and a couple of crowns of broccoli in the fridge.

And we’ve always got some dried black beans hanging around!

Photobucket

Obviously, we needed to try this, huh?  It was like . . . kismet or something.

We cooked up some black beans ahead of time  – beans are a handy thing to have in the fridge anyway, aren’t they?

We also had not one, but SEVERAL leeks to use up, which we did.

Photobucket Once the rice had gotten a good head start, we added the broccoli crowns, chopped into spoon-sized pieces.

Yes.  We ate it with a spoon.

Plus, smaller bits of broccoli would incorporate better into the final dish, I’d think.

Photobucket

After the broccoli had had a chance to partially cook, we added the cold beans – while the rice and broccoli are finishing cooking, the beans will reheat.

Always thinking, huh?

Obviously, one could use canned beans here, and I’m sure they’d be fine.  But honestly?  I find the texture of freshly-cooked beans to be better than that of canned, and whenever possible, I prefer to cook them myself.

I guess I’m old-school like that.

PhotobucketSo, as it does, the rice (and now the broccoli and the beans) absorbed the chicken stock, little by little, until it just couldn’t absorb any more – the rice, beans and broccoli were all tender, but not mushy, and the stock was absorbed.

Did I mention that we used our homemade chicken stock?  Yeah, it’s all about the ingredients that go INTO the dish. . .

Photobucket

And that’s it!  It really didn’t take long – maybe 20 minutes or so, and the homemade chicken stock, along with the TON of fresh leeks and the broccoli and beans made for a tasty, filling dinner.

I loved it – and enjoyed leftovers for lunch for a couple of days.  Peeps didn’t care for the broccoli in it; he found it to be a distraction in what was, essentially, a rice and beans dish.

We’ve both agreed that some sort of greens – maybe even broccoli rabe – would work wonderfully here, but that’s the cool thing about risotto – you can do what you like with it!

If you’d like to play along with our Third Thursday challenge, leave a comment with a link to (or description of) your Third Thursday project – tell us what you’re up to!  For loose guidelines, or if you want to check out some past Thursdays, they’re right here! 

Comments

1. Cristina - June 17, 2010

This looks really neat. I’ll have to try this challenge next month.

I have to agree with Peeps (or is it Mr. Peeps?) that broccoli isn’t what I would use for this dish. I know it’s not green, but I might try it with water chestnuts.

We’d love to have you join us next month! And water chestnuts are interesting – they’d lend a crunch that you don’t usually find in risotto. Hmmm. . .

2. anne - June 17, 2010

Hmmmm. I’ve never made risotto, but I’ve pondered it any number of times. This recipe makes it seem less daunting than most. Something about all that stirring … Anyway, my Mr. doesn’t like broccoli. What about peas? Same greenish hue. We love anything with black beans, so this just might have to enter the rotation!

I’m starting to get more adventurous with things like risotto – truly, you can tailor it to suit whatever your (or Mr. Anne’s) tastes are. 😀

How about fava beans?


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

