jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 06.20.2010 Edition June 21, 2010

Posted by Toy Lady in random stuff.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

I trust we all enjoyed our Father’s Days as much as is appropriate – dads, wives of dads, kids of dads, moms of dads, you know.  Whatever.  I hope you at least got a card in the mail, if nothing else.  Even I remembered that, and we know how busy I’ve been! I even remembered my sister’s birthday, too!

Photobucket

PhotobucketI love it when the Smiley Fries are on sale.  I always pick up at least one package!

They amuse me. No other reason.

Why no, actually I am not 5 years old.

But everyone needs an extra smile now and then, don’t you think?

Photobucket

Photobucket

I picked a few strawberries this weekend.

I’m just gonna say – I suspect I may be getting too old for this – man, am I sore!

But mmm . . . strawberries!  I guess I’m set for my morning smoothies for the rest of the year, at least in the strawberry department!

Photobucket

Photobucket

You know what’s nice after a rough morning of picking strawberries?

Well, the warm, humid evening after the rough morning, anyway.

A nice, frosty glass of sangria.  Right before I got back from the berry farm, I whipped up a batch of sangria – I used a grapefruit, some pineapple chunks, and a handful of fresh strawberries to give it a nice, rosy hue.  That, and STRAWBERRIES WERE COMING  OUT OF MY EARS!

Photobucket

Photobucket

And another thrilling installment of “Shopping With Peeps!”

So . . . what exactly does it take to make a shovel happy and giddy?

And really, do you seriously want your six-year-old digging around in the yard with a happy, giddy shovel?  I think not.

Photobucket

So we continue with our Sisyphean task – trying to empty the freezers so we can defrost and refill them with fresh stuff.

PhotobucketWe defrosted and smoked a turkey last weekend – and I made a batch of Dinosaur BBQ Mutha Sauce to toss in.  Now while I’m not generally fond of tomato-based BBQ sauces, I’ve just got to say – YUM!

The only thing?  We shredded the turkey, mixed it with the sauce, ate some, gave some to our neighbors, and, um, packaged the rest and shoved it in the freezer for later.

Do you suppose this is why we’re having such a problem emptying the freezer?

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  We realized that we’ve been kind of lax about cooking from our magazine subscriptions lately, and we plan to remedy that!  I had issues of Cook’s Illustrated and Food & Wine from this month, as well as last month’s Food & Wine and Cooking Light waiting to be used – I guess it’s catchup time!

Photobucket

Monday – Salmon was on sale – which works out perfectly for us, since F&W featured an intriguing Grilled Glazed Salmon.  That should be perfect with some rice and a tossed salad (from the garden, of course!)

Tuesday – It’s that time of the year – between my garden (mainly lettuce at this point, but just wait!) and the public market, we’re experiencing a vegetable surplus!  We still have half a bunch of broccoli rabe in the fridge from my last trip, so we’ll use that in an old favorite pasta with ricotta & greens dish.

Wednesday – Another score at the market – garlic scapes!  And snow peas!    The scapes are not going to be around much longer, so I had to grab them now, and the snow peas, well, they were nice and fresh, and I like to buy from that particular farmer whenever I can.  So this is starting to sound like stir-fry to me!

Thursday – More grilling – this time Cooking Light‘s Lemon and Sage Chicken.   The only change will be that we’re going to use boneless chicken instead of bone-in and adjust the cooking time accordingly.  We’ll do something potato-y – either grill some potato wedges, or pan-roast some baby reds – something.  Also, our old friend, tossed salad.

Friday – Woo – pizza night!  This week, I’m going to try really hard to remember the garlic scapes on my pizza!

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. Cristina - June 21, 2010

I love the smiley fries and I’m definitely not 5 either! The menu also sounds great, almost as good as the smiley fries. Kidding.

I know exactly how you feel about the freezer. It’s taking us forever to go through what’s already in there, assuming I don’t find any more great deals on frozen items. That’s a pretty big assumption.

That’s it exactly! We keep buying meat and stuff on sale – and when it’s a good price, we’ve got to stock up, right? 🙄

2. anne - June 21, 2010

Would you be interested in trading weather forecasts? We’re looking at 97 on Wednesday and 99 on Thursday. It would be great for your grilling plans .. you wouldn’t actually need to light it!!

Uh. . . thanks, Anne. But not really – unless you’re willing to trade in February for 4 feet of snow or negative temperatures. 😛

anne - June 22, 2010

Oh … uh … never mind.

*slinks away to sweat in private*

Yeah, I thought so. 😆

3. Alison - June 21, 2010

Thanks so much for stopping by my blog last week. I did much better on my menu plan last week and I’m hoping for another great week!

Your glass of sangria looks so refreshing! I haven’t had sangria in a while and now I’m inspired to whip up some soon…maybe the weekend!

Hi, Alison – I’m so glad the meal planning is starting to work better for you! It’s a great tool, once you get all the “bugs” worked out! 😉

I love my sangria – and now that I don’t have a teenager in the house anymore, there’s no reason not to keep a pitcher in the fridge. Oh yeah, except that I’d probably drink it all. 😕


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

