jump to navigation

Much to my chagrin… June 25, 2010

Posted by Peeps in random stuff.
trackback

Years and years ago, back in the early 90s, the building that I worked in had a carnival.  It was four buildings all connected  by skywalks.  Building management was forever doing things to try to make the tenants happy.  Picture that happening these days.

So one day they set up an honest-to-God carnival in the atrium of one of the buildings.  They had a clown or two.  A dunking booth.  Someone working a cotton candy stand.  Various games of “chance”.  Balloon animals, for crying out loud.

My friend and co-worker went to this thing on our lunch hour.  We had a great time.  Okay, so maybe we spent a little too much time at the dunking booth.  Who wouldn’t?  We played the various games and won all kinds of crap.  Which promptly went back to our office, since we had to go back to work.

All the crap we acquired lived at the office from then on.  It was just easier that way.  Besides, you never know when a power outage will leave you some time to play with the hacky sack.  Or when, in a moment of triumph, you spin that thing that looks like a piece of vacuum cleaner hose whose name I’ve never known around your head to produce a shrill, whining wail that startles everyone around you.

Towards the end of 2001, I left my job to move up here to be with Toys.  Most of the crap I got from the carnival all those years ago I gave to my friend who went with me.  I didn’t need it, and I really didn’t feel like packing it.  And unpacking it.

And then last year, a package showed up at my house.  It was one of those FedEx tube things.  Wondering why it was there, I opened it.  My friend, who was still at the firm, had sent me one of the things we’d gotten at the carnival.  I can only assume that he sent it to me because the firm was moving again, and he felt that it needed a permanent home with me.

So, being the person I am, I stuck it in the spare room with the rest of my crap that reminds me of days gone by.  Until a couple weeks ago.

Unless you’ve been living under a rock for the last couple weeks, or you happen to be an American, you know that the World Cup is going on.  And you know about the one thing that’s annoying everyone across the planet.  The most annoying musical instrument ever devised.  The vuvuzela.

And I, much to my horror, own one.  And have for quite a while now.  In my defense, I’d never even heard the word until a couple weeks ago.  It was just a cheap plastic horn when I got it.  That I seldom ever played with.

Of course, now things are different.  I might even have to keep the silly thing in the gun safe, with the other dangerous things in the house.  It will probably be a potent threat for a few years.

Comments

1. Nickoshi - June 25, 2010

lol i was at a sports bar type pizza joint about a week ago and was watching the world cup, me and my husband kept hearing this noise and thought it was the tv going out or a bunch of angry bee’s being held captive somewhere… to my surprise it turned out to be the sound of that horn. Boy is it annoying sounding 🙂

Peeps - June 28, 2010

It’s horrible. It makes me very glad that I don’t care much about the World Cup.

2. judy - June 25, 2010

That is truly funny! Such an irritating noise they make. Thanks for sharing!

Peeps - June 28, 2010

Any time. Hopefully, it’s my worst secret.

3. sjbraun - June 26, 2010

How about making a youtube video of a performance and posting it ….??? 🙂

Peeps - June 28, 2010

I don’t think so. It’s not really my style at all.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

