jump to navigation

Tuesday Musings: 07.06.2010 July 6, 2010

Posted by Toy Lady in random stuff.
trackback

Goodness what a long, busy weekend (and week!) (and month!) it’s been – and not going to be much better any time soon!  June has come and gone, bringing with it July – the month I spend trying to catch up after all the work-insanity of June.  Go ahead, sing along with me. . .

Photobucket

Photobucket

We spent the holiday with my parents this year.  My aunt and uncle drove out out from Michigan for a few days, and Mother was thrilled to see her!  We drove though town from a different direction than normal this time, and Peeps was appalled by the sign on the 4-way flashing red light that he noticed.

That sign has always been there, so I don’t even notice it anymore, but I guess he was a little put out that “they” felt the need to tell drivers to “stop then go” at a flashing red light because, well, DUH.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Aw. . . the poor, put-upon kitty!

You’d think that we don’t provide her with her own sparkling clean bowls for food and water, what with the way she sneaked out to drink out of the dog’s dish when he’s not looking!  Poor pitiful kitty. . .

Unless she spat in his dish – that  would actually make sense!

Photobucket

Speaking of parents.  Peeps’s mom will be spending a few days with us this week.  She’s going to be house-hunting while she’s here.  (Finally!)

Photobucket

Therefore, we’ve been paying a bit more attention to houses on the market in our neighborhood.  Though we didn’t actually see this while shopping, we noticed it on the way to shopping.

I’m not sure if Peeps’s mom would be super-thrilled about buying a house from Donna Reed, though.

Unless she’s into zombies or something.

Which I’m pretty sure she’s not.

Photobucket

Photobucket

I made a super-jumbo batch of white sangria for the 4th of July picnic with my family – I found a great sale on a pretty mediocre wine – the PERFECT thing for sangria!

I must say – it was all kinds of fun mashing a grapefruit, a bunch of pineapple, several frozen strawberries, 3 lemons, 1 lime, and 4 oranges with my potato bean fruit masher!

Photobucket

PhotobucketSour cherries are in season – woo hoo!

I love me some cherries – cherry pie, cherry muffins, cherry jam – love ’em all!

I just, um, forget to make them.  I go crazy, buy (or even pick) a ton of cherries, make an awful mess pitting them all, and I stick them in the freezer and forget about them.

Right there next to the grapes in the freezer.

Since I still have 5 quarts of cherries in the freezer from last year, this year, moderation is the name of the game!  I bought one quart and flash froze the berries for smoothies.

Self control.  That is how I roll.

Photobucket

Photobucket

My beet and goat cheese pizza last week was . . . surprisingly tasty.  I was poking around in the freezer looking for the baby artichokes that I know are in there.  I couldn’t find them, but I did find a small bag of roasted beets – perfect with some goat cheese, a little mozzarella (for meltiness!) and a dusting of fresh chopped rosemary.  It turns out there was no reason for me to worry after all!  It was GOOD!

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  With Peeps’s mom here for a few days, we’re trying extra hard to have not just tasty, but healthy dinners.  After all, we don’t want her to think I’m not taking proper care of her little boy, do we?

Photobucket

Monday – First off, we need to use up the fennel that I thinned last week – and while I’ve fine with fennel as a side dish, there really wasn’t enough for that.  I thought I’d do something like this golden lentil recipe, only using red lentils and a different selection of seasonings.  And, of course, fennel.  We’ll just see how that goes, huh?

Tuesday – Mom comes in Tuesday afternoon.  We’ll start her off with some grilled chicken – tandoori-style.  Of course we’ll serve it with basmati rice and probably some salad.  I’ve got a few homemade pitas in the freezer – do you suppose anyone would notice if we just defrosted them and called them naan?

Wednesday – Peeps mentioned that his mom has never had homemade spaghetti bolognese, and, well, we just can’t let that continue, can we?  Well probably serve that with a salad of what may be the last of the garden’s lettuce, since it’s getting pretty warm and the lettuce probably won’t last much longer anyway.

Thursday –  Since we’ve got the meat grinder out anyway, and since Mom “hasn’t had a good burger in ages,” well, I guess we’re having burger night again this week!   We’ll roast some sweet potatoes to go along with the burgers, along with (again!) tossed salad.

Friday – Friday is pizza night – I may use up the rest of my goat cheese and roasted beets, but I’m reasonably certain that Peeps and his mom will stick to tradition – cheese, pepperoni, and perhaps a bit of homemade Italian sausage.

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. mazco34 - July 6, 2010

This mom comes in Tuesday thing; there’s a lot of assuming that she’ll get the correct train and all.

She doesn’t have the best record with reading track assignments.

I’m just saying.

Peeps - July 7, 2010

I know. I was trying not to think about that. But she made it.

2. Anne - July 6, 2010

Beet pizza. Um, no. I’m all for experimentation, but some things are just not intended to be. It’s in the instruction book. Check it out, there’s a list of “thou shalt nots”. (No, not THAT instruction book! I don’t think that one includes cooking.)

Aww, Anne. You’ve gotta walk on the wild side once in a while!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

