jump to navigation

Wun’erful, wun’erful! July 13, 2010

Posted by Toy Lady in Food, Giveaway.
trackback

(This giveaway has ended.)

We’ve found an online shopping site that carries pretty much everything you could ever need – from platform beds to kitchen gadgets to, well, pretty much anything you want, I guess.

Including a stick blender.  (I’ll come back to this in a minute.)

Long-time readers may know about my love for mayonnaise and may even remember, a couple of years ago, when I gave up my beloved Hellman’s for (gasp) light mayo.

But you know what’s even better than Hellman’s?

Homemade mayonnaise.

Photobucket“But wait!” I hear you shouting, “What about the work?  The fat?  The calories?  The flat-out decadence?”

Ah.  Here’s the thing.

Homemade mayo really doesn’t have to be all the much work.  I can make a half pint of mayonnaise in less than a minute.

And the fat?  Well, while traditional mayonnaise is basically an emulsion of egg yolk and who-knows-what oil, my mayonnaise uses the whole egg – non-fat white and all, and whichever oil suits my fancy that day – including heart-healthy olive oil or grapeseed oil or, well, whatever oil won’t kill you this week.

PhotobucketAnd it uses nothing but a humble (but awesomely cool!) stick blender and a couple of pantry staples.

Wanna see?

It’s very simple – just gather together the following:

  • 1 egg (room temperature is better, but don’t sweat it if it’s not) (use a pasteurized egg if you’re concerned about the uncooked-ness of the mayo)
  • a dab of dijon mustard (maybe 1 tsp.) or a bit of ground mustard (1/4 tsp.)
  • a dash of lemon juice (1/2 tsp.)
  • a pinch of salt
  • whatever other flavors you want – freshly ground pepper, herbs, chipotle, garlic – whatever you want!
  • about 2/3 to 3/4 cup of your choice of oil – canola, olive, corn oil, whatever.

Drop everything but the oil into the cup that comes with your stick blender, cover the egg with the stick blender, and start blending, adding the oil once the blender is going.

Here, look:

 

And that’s really it.

PhotobucketYou’ll end up with about 1 cup, or half a pint, of thick, flavorful mayonnaise, ready to mix with your potatoes or macaroni in a salad, or spread on your whole wheat bread with the turkey breast and leafy green lettuce – it’s just like real mayonnaise!

And really, who needs more mayo than that at one time, anyway?

And it’s not some lousy off-brand stuff, either.  This is thick, rich mayoNAISE, baby!

Photobucket

And, because this is such a cool thing, the online mega-retailer, CSN Stores has offered an online $40 gift certificate to one of our readers so you can get your very own stick blender – or whatever it is you’d like from any CSN Store.  Go ahead, check them out, I’ll wait.

I know, right?

Here’s what you do.  Simply leave a comment on this post telling us what kitchen gadget you either can’t live without or would love to get.

And, as a bonus, if you’re a blogger, link back to this post on your blog, then leave me a comment with  a link to your blog post.

(It looks like CSN doesn’t ship outside the US and Canada, so this giveaway is limited to people with those shipping addresses.)

Comments will be closed (and entries will end) next Tuesday, July 20, at 5:00 pm Eastern (real) time.  We’ll announce the winner the following day.

Got it?

OK, Go!

Comments

1. Cristina - July 13, 2010

Oh, wow! This brings back memories of making mayo back in Romania. Back then I used a spoon and I was told to barely drizzle the oil into the bowl or the mayo won’t come out right. That made it SUCH a chore and I only made mayo on special occasions. How things have changed!

Well, my favorite thing in the kitchen would be my Wusthof Classic chef’s knife, but it’s not a gadget. I guess the honor will have to go to my Oxo Good Grips salad spinner. A close second would be the Oxo Good Grips smooth edge can opener. It sounds like I work for them, doesn’t it?

I made mayonnaise by hand – once. I just don’t have that kind of patience! 😕 You know, a good chef’s knife is a beautiful thing! And we have a kitchen dull of Oxo stuff, too! Do you know they make office stuff too now? 😯

mazco34 - July 13, 2010

Oxo also makes a killer shower mirror, for those of use who like to shave in the shower.

2. sjbraun - July 13, 2010

I love it! I’m doing a CSN post on Thursday (actually, I plan for it to be part of my Third Thursday post – are you doing that this month?). Yes, they do have everything a body could want.

Normally I’m not big on kitchen gadgets – I am trying to fight my hoarding tendencies 🙂 Besides, I leave all that to the excellent cooks like you!

But, although I’m not sure it’s truly a gadget, I love my bread machine.

Yes, I’m doing Third Thursday this month – can’t wait to see what you’re doing. Now you’ve got me curious! 😆

Absolutely a bread machine is a kitchen gadget! I’ve never used one, though – I’ve always found the kneading of the dough to be . . . therapeutic. (That, and the occasional pounding of chicken breasts, but that’s a whole other story. . . teenage boys – ack!) 😯

3. mazco34 - July 13, 2010

Okay, my three favorite “Gadgets” are:

Oxo can opener – So easy to use.

Insinkerator Garbage disposal – Peeling veggies is a lot easier now.

And number 1 is:

Cuisinart 7 qt standing mixer.

Maz – we would be LOSt without the stand mixer! And while I LURVE the disposal, we use it a lost less since we started composting. . . though it’s going to see ALL the tomato seeds this year. 😕

4. Jordy - July 13, 2010

The Ninja Master Prep food Blender has, since purchasing it a little over a month ago, become an absolute stable in my home. smoothies, chopping veggies, ricing cauliflower, it does it all!

How cool! I’ve thought of getting one of those – right now I have a small Hamilton Beach blender I just use for smoothies, which works beautifully. I don’t know, though, if it could handle all those other jobs! 😯

5. Schmidty - July 13, 2010

I have a mini KitchenAid food processor that I love. It’s quick and cleans up easily, and is wonderful for quick sauces or mincing garlic or chopping nuts. My second and third favorites are my whisk and my silicone spoon/spatula.

Years ago, we tried to grind cloves in the mini food processor. It didn’t work well – and scratched the heck out of the inside of the work bowl! 😦 The fo-pro still works just fine, though – and you’re right, it’s great for mincing or chopping – just not spices. 🙄

6. Anne - July 13, 2010

My favorite has to be my Kitchen Aid mixer. I get a workout every time I pull it out from the bottom shelf, so it’s exercise equipment, too!

I really really need a new salt mill. Mine self destructed and I’m using one of the McCormick (I think) grinders, prying the top off every time it gets empty. Elsewise, I would love to have some silicone utensils. I have none. 😦

Anne, I don’t mean to sound dumb, but how does a salt mill differ from a pepper mill? Several years ago, I picked up several little colored plastic pepper mills on a clearance table – I think we’ve got 4 different ones, each with a different pepper blend. I couldn’t decide which one to get, so I got one of each. 😕

Why do we keep our KAs on the bottom shelf – it’s like lifting an anvil!

7. Kath the Cook - July 13, 2010

kismet! – I have been thinking about how I really need a stick mixer – that is probably what I would get….or a really good knife. My knives are iffy at best.

Mmm. . . tough call! 😉

8. kayatthekeyboard - July 15, 2010

Love my stick blender. But what I really, really need is a mini food processor/chopper for those little relishy things that don’t need the whole FoPro experience but would take me nine years to mince or grind finely enough by hand. So that’s what I’d get! Or maybe an ice cream maker.

Oh, hey, Kay! Now that’s a hard choice – I’ve gotta tell you – I just made ice cream this weekend, and YUM!

9. Kristine Michelle - July 19, 2010

I have a Magic Bullet to Go which I just love! It’s great for small jobs so I don’t have to haul out the big blender or food processor.
AllMyCrazyCats AT aol.com

Thanks for entering, Kristine! I do love those smaller appliances for small jobs!

10. Kristine Michelle - July 19, 2010

I posted this giveaway on my Blog
http://kristysstuff.blogspot.com/p/csn-contests.html
AllMyCrazyCats {at} AOL.COM

11. Alicia's Homemaking - July 19, 2010

I would get one of their pastry mats along with a Corell tea kettle!
🙂

12. Rachel from A Cupcake For Moose - July 19, 2010

I love their mini pie dishes! Perhaps not the most practical, but oh so cute!

13. Drew - July 19, 2010

My juicer is my favorite kitchen gadget!

14. ElennaLouise - July 20, 2010

My favorite kitchen gadget is my Food Processor
elenna @ sbcglobal.net


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

