jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 07.19.2010 Edition July 19, 2010

Posted by Toy Lady in Food, Food & Wine, Garden, Musings, random stuff.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

First thing – if you haven’t entered our giveaway, be sure to skip on over there and leave a comment for a chance to win the drawing for a $40.00 gift certificate from CSN Stores!  We’ll be firing up the Random Number Generator Tuesday at 5PM Eastern time, and we’ll announce the winner next Wednesday, so be sure to get your entry in!

Photobucket

PhotobucketRemember how, back about a month ago, I was too old for that picking strawberries foolishness?

Yeah, well, the same goes for blueberries.

I only picked 10 pounds. . . the problem is that I actually enjoy it.

While I’m doing it.

The next day . . . not so much.

*sigh*  I’m not 22 anymore, I guess.

Photobucket

Photobucket

But on the bright side – one of our local liquor stores is still running their 3 for $8 sale on wine – which is absolutely perfect to keep us in sangria for the rest of the summer!

We still haven’t decided whether we prefer white or red sangria, though – so I bought 6 of one and half a dozen of the other.

Photobucket

Photobucket

You know what’s coming into season?

Cantaloupe.

I love melon – and Saturday, I went to the market, and I smelled that tell-tale smell – the scent of ripe cantaloupe.

I wasn’t prepared to make cantaloupe gelato (or whatever it is), but that won’t stop me from enjoying the ripe, juicy melon on its own!

Photobucket

PhotobucketDid I mention I picked blueberries this weekend?

And that I filled three sheet trays, ran out of room in the freezer, and still have a quart left?

Yeah.  But you know, a bunch of blueberries, a bit of vanilla yogurt, and a drizzle of honey – NOT a bad breakfast, let me tell you!

Photobucket

PhotobucketOh, and besides the beautiful GIANT melon?

The corn guy was at the market this weekend, too.

This is a farmer who, on Saturday mornings, fills the bed of his pickup truck with fresh corn, hauls it to the market, and sells it for 15 for $3.

And he’s very friendly too – he even  threw in “one for the baby!”

I explained to him who “the baby” is – and he laughed!

Photobucket

Oh, oh!

Photobucket

I have a tomato starting to ripen!  It’s almost . . . orange-ish!  Stay tuned for updates!

Photobucket

Photobucket

And, um, speaking of ripening.

I went out to the garden the other day to pick some green beans for dinner.

Between the hot days and the soaking rains – it’s evidently been PERFECT weather for beans – I picked 4 pounds of green beans!

Now, mind you, I have a single row of beans, and it’s only 6 feet long.

It’s crazy, isn’t it?  And it’s just a good thing we like fresh beans, huh?

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  Wow, I still can’t believe how the summer has flown by!  Not only that, but we’ve done a pretty poor job of clearing out the freezer, so we’ve declared a moratorium on buying any more anything to go in the freezer – with the exception of in-season fruit and veggies, and that in moderation.  (The emphasis is mostly for my sake.)  So we’re looking forward to figuring out what do with what we’ve got.

Photobucket

Monday – We stocked up on various single-serving fishes when they were on sale for $1 per serving.   Salmon with Lentils and Mustard-Herb Butter will use up a couple of salmon fillets, along with some of the French green lentils we picked up a while ago.  Round it out with a nice tossed salad, and we’ll be all set.

Tuesday – I picked up a boneless leg of lamb a while ago, and we divided it into a few lamb steaks and several packets for grinding – this week, we’ll thaw some of the steaks out and try lamb with peach-ginger chutney – lamb works with fruit, right?  Also, I picked up some broccoli at the market, and some steamed rice will just round it all out.

Wednesday –  Peeps suggested meatball sandwiches for this week, which sounded like a FINE idea!  In addition, we found a recipe in this month’s Food & Wine for oven fries with herbs & Pecorino – which just seems like it’ll be perfect together, don’t you think?

Thursday – We’re going to try some simply marinated chicken only, instead of the Greek influence, we’ve got some lime and a TON of out-of-control tarragon.  Since the green beans are close to out-of-control, we’ll be enjoying some more of those, along with some baby potatoes, possibly all tossed with any mustard-herb butter left from Monday.

Friday – And it’s pizza night!  You know, it’s really nice to have one night a week we don’t actually have to think about . . .

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. sjbraun - July 19, 2010

Oooh – our minds are on the same track; I’m posting here in a bit about my glee over a finally-ripe tomato 🙂
Your beans look wonderful as well. I quit planting beans a few years back, after they were decimated by Japanese Beetles. However, I haven’t seen those pests this year or last, so I’m wondering whether it would be tempting fate too much to try planting them again next year??

Oh, I am keeping an eye on my one little guy! And one day later this week (fingers crossed!) I am going to enjoy a BLT sandwich – with Peeps’s semolina bread, some fresh lettuce, homemade bacon and homemade mayonnaise! 😀

I don’t think I’ve ever seen a Japanese Beetle – though I have heard awful stories. I’ve been fighting with some kind of lily-eating beetle this summer – but since the lilies are nowhere near the garden, I’m not above a little bug spray. Or a lot. Let’s face it – those bugs need to GO!

2. keli - July 19, 2010

YUM. Your menu sounds wonderful! We’re enjoying meatball subs this week too. That’t what hubby wanted. 🙂 Those blueberries look amazing. My kids would go nuts. And the cantalope. Yum! Looks like you will have lots of yummy produce this week! Enjoy

Thanks, Keli! I try to keep plenty of fruit and veggies around – it’s just as easy to snack on already cut-up melon as anything else – and SO much better for us!

3. Olivia - July 19, 2010

Yum! I love blueberries. We need to go and pick some too!

My mentioned yesterday afternoon that he still remembers when I used to take him berry picking – (and that was a LONG time ago!) – it’s such a great thing to do with kids, isn’t it?

4. mazco34 - July 19, 2010

You know what else makes a really good breakfast – Blueberry Pancakes!

That they do, though I’ll admit, I’m kind of partial to blueberry muffins, myself. 😉

5. Elizabeth - July 19, 2010

Yum…I do love me some blueberry muffins. Thanks for the recipe. I think I may get up the courage to introduce some beans into our diet. Maybe if it’s paired with pasta, no one will notice?

I’m very jealous of your garden. We don’t have enough sun in our backyard for a full garden. I started a container garden with three tomato plants, basil, rosemary, and mint. My dad killed the first round of basil by trying to be helpful. I planted some more, but due to his “helpfulness” it refuses to grow. So I bought another plant. He’s under strict instructions not to touch this one 🙂

My tomato plants have already flowered and yielded fruit. They also got caught up in the attempt to be “helpful” and have stopped flowering. I think they may be done. So much for fresh tomatoes.

It’s probably best, then, that dad stays away from the herbs, huh? 😉

And that’s terrible that your tomatoes have already stopped producing – I wonder why?

Oh, and do experiment some with some different beans – the only beans I really had growing up were baked beans, and, while I love them, there’s an amazing variety out there! How about black bean & sweet potato burritos? (Yum!)

6. Anne - July 19, 2010

Mmmmmmmmmm .. canteloupe and blueberries together. No more fruit needed for that fruit salad! I bought a melon last week at the farmers’ market for $1. It was about the size of my head. $2 in blueberries and I was set for the week.

I harvested my tomato a week or so ago. It was OK, nothing to write home about. The ones I bought at the market weren’t a whole lot better, maybe it’s just not a good year for ‘maters.

Oh, Anne, don’t say that! Maybe your tomato was just lonely! I visited mine again last evening, and it’s got a couple of friends that are starting to fade from green to . . . less green.

7. M @ Betty Crapper - July 19, 2010

pizza night is always a good thing. This Friday will you be having white or red sangria to go with that pizza?

😆 Good question! Peeps went ahead and made a big pitcher of red already, so it looks like that’s the way we’ll go . . . if there’s any left by Friday!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

