jump to navigation

Thing #68 – Peanuts and Hot Dogs and Everything! July 21, 2010

Posted by Toy Lady in 101 Things, random stuff, Rochester.
Tags: ,
trackback

I know, it’s a bit long, but, you know, I kind of had to, you know?

I knew you’d understand!

So, it was a beautiful mid-summer Sunday afternoon – the sun was shining brightly, the temperature was hovering right around 80 degrees, and, for a change, the humidity was down.

It was a perfect day – and we had a pair of tickets to the Red Wings game.  The franchise has a long history in Rochester, dating from 1899 when they played as the “Rochester Broncos.”   The Wings are now a farm team for the Minnesota Twins.

OK, enough local color.

Now, for those of you who have been following along, “go to a baseball game” is was Number 68 on my 101 Things List – and Peeps thoughtfully provided tickets for my birthday this year.  Until now, I hadn’t actually been to a ball game since Surly Boy‘s Little League and Cub Scout days, and I thought it was about time I went again – after all, there are an awful lot of people who don’t have a local baseball team to go cheer for!

Photobucket

Of course, things have changed a bit – nestled in among the hot dog stands and other concessions, we spotted a crepe stand.

Yes, crepes.

I have no idea.

I’m still trying to get used to the idea of nachos and Dippin’ Dots, not to mention veggie burgers.

At a baseball game!

Photobucket

Fortunately, since it was right around lunchtime, we did manage to find a couple of hot dogs!

We also happened on a very nice locally- brewed beer – Rohrbach’s Red Wing Ale.

Well, hey, it was important to stay hydrated, what with sitting out there in the sun all day!

Photobucket

Another new thing – the advent of the Taco Man!  This is great!

There’s evidently a player from the other team chosen at random before the game starts – that’s the Taco Man.

If the Wings strike the batter out, everyone wins a free taco!  How cool is that?  Just redeem your ticket stub at Taco Bell!

They struck out the Taco Man – and the crowd went wild!

We still haven’t figured out whether it had to be redeemed that very day, or whether there was a specific Taco Bell we were supposed to go to.  But it’s still cool!

Photobucket

Since it was Superhero Day at the park, between innings, several super heroes were tossing T-shirts into the crowd – and Peeps caught one for me!

And a little later, he caught a squishy Red Wings ball for me, too!

Photobucket

There were a couple of kind of weird things that happened, too.

Do you know that, if you hit the ball, and it pops up into the air, then comes down and hits you while you’re still thinking about running for first base, you’re out?

Ya learn something new every day, that’s what I always say.  Yup.

Oh, and all of a sudden, out of nowhere, everyone on the field just got REALLY REALLY MAD (and not about the ball-hitting thing, either)!

PhotobucketNow let me assure you, Peeps and I, as well as the every-single-game people sitting next to us, were right there the whole time, watching, and none of us had any idea what was going on!

I mean, one minute, everything was going along beautifully, and the next, well, the umpires were separating one of our guys from the other team’s catcher, and our guy, well, he looked like he was going to hurt someone.

And then – THEN! – the third base coach stomped onto the field, pointing and shouting . . .well, something must have been going on, because I don’t think, at a family sporting event like this, the coaches are supposed to using the kind of language he used, yet he didn’t get removed from the game.

And after that, there was security on the field between each inning.

And no one has any idea what the heck happened.

All in all, it was a great day – a chance to just get out, with my best guy, relax and enjoy some good, old-fashioned American fun.  Truly, it doesn’t get much better than that, does it?

Comments

1. judy - July 21, 2010

Yep that is minor league baseball! I just love it although I keep track of the hits and runs too and who wins. Glad you went. We are going to try to get one more in in August before the minor season is over.

🙂

Judy, I’d forgotten how much I enjoyed going to the games – it’s been so long!

2. mazco34 - July 21, 2010

From the way it sounds, the batter may have been in foul territory and that was the arguement. As for the deal between the catcher and batter, that probably was trash talk.
And the 3rd base coach – well in the minors, that is usually the manager of the team.
Did they do the dizzy bat race?

BTW – do they still have the hot tub?

About the dizzy bat race, I don’t think so. Surely I’d have noticed. 😕 And yeah, Peeps said they do still have the hot tubs. Which I still don’t get. 🙄

3. Anne - July 21, 2010

I know it’s a different sport and all, but your story telling just reminds me of Andy Griffith and “What is was, was football” 😆 Glad you enjoyed your day!

Well, yeah, and that was pretty much it, too. But it was still fun. 😀


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

