jump to navigation

I worry about me sometimes July 30, 2010

Posted by Peeps in random stuff.
trackback

The oddest things tend to roam around in my head.

My job, while relatively simple, is far from intellectually stimulating.  It’s very easy to let your mind go in all sorts of directions while you’re standing around shaping bread.  Particularly if my boss is in the mood for some music.

Now, I like boss.  He amuses me.  But I can’t stand most of the music he listens to.  He’s very much into a genre of music he says is called Americana.  But for some reason, most of the Americana he likes is done by Canadians.  Whatever.

He’s also a big fan of bluegrass.  Like this stuff:

Apparently this band was named after someone’s horse. Yeah, I know.

It’s not that I don’t like bluegrass.  In small doses.  Not quite so early in the morning.  Without yodeling.  Anyway.

So, he had on his banjo Deliverance music the other day.  And it got me to thinking about the Beverly Hillbillies.  Naturally.  But have you ever stopped and listened to the words to the theme song?

For some reason, the only version of the original opening sequence available on YouTube has had the audio track removed for some violation or other. Idiots.

Okay, so he was out hunting and he discovered oil with a rifle shot. Right.  Got it.  Now, I know it’s just a show.  Willing suspension of disbelief. I suppose it’s possible that oil was close enough to the surface that a rifle round could find it.  That’s not my problem, here.

Did you ever watch the show?  Jed was a careful, methodical man.  Very deliberate in everything he did.  And he missed a shot?  Really?  I doubt he missed a shot since he was nine.  He was trying to get dinner for his family.  That’s an important thing.  He would not have missed.

So, I mentioned this to my boss.  Because having insane theories is fun, but they’re way more fun to share.

He suggested that Jed’s round went through the critter and into the ground.  I told him that was ridiculous.  Any round capable of passing completely through an animal and then penetrating the ground deep enough to find oil is a mighty powerful round.  Way too nasty to be hunting anything smaller than a Cape Buffalo, say.

So, there it is.  What I do while I’m working.  This one wasn’t too bad.  I’m sure there will be others.  And at least it’s never boring inside my head.

Comments

1. mazco34 - July 30, 2010

You guys should listen to Styx – “Too Much Time On My Hands”

Peeps - July 31, 2010

Boss doesn’t like “old” music. Whatever.

2. Anne - July 30, 2010

Ahhhhhhhhhggggggggggg, bluegrass!!!!! The only music (and I use the term loosely) that I dislike more than bluegrass is bagpipes. Come to think of it, they’re much alike. Too much screeching and caterwalling for my taste.

Peeps - July 31, 2010

Have you ever been in the same room with nine guys playing bagpipes? It’s mighty painful. Bagpipes are outside toys.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

