jump to navigation

Have you ever… August 6, 2010

Posted by Peeps in random stuff.
Tags:
trackback

…Spent too much time in the heat?

It’s been a very warm summer.  And for the most part, I haven’t minded much.  We have central air in the house, which is one of the best things ever invented.

But being too hot makes people cranky.  Just check to see how much violent crime goes up in New York when it’s too hot outside.  It’s not pretty.

One of the ways to get too hot is to have my job.  For the last few weeks, every day when I get to work well before dawn, it’s been at least 90 degrees in the room I spend most of my day in.  And then I turn on the oven.  The really big oven.  That spends a good portion of the day set at over 500 degrees.

Almost every single day, by the time I’m ready to go home for the day, the temperature is hovering around the 100 degree mark.  Inside.  It’s brutal.

I’m tired.  I feel wrung out.  I am not in the mood.  For much of anything.  Even thinking is painful.  I just want to sit in the house with the air on and soak up the coolness.  Very much the way the dog has been feeling lately.  Huh, I’m glad to know it’s not just me.

So excuse me for a bit, I need to get back to feeling human.  Thanks.

Comments

1. judy - August 6, 2010

Well that does not sound very pleasant. Do you swim? It seems to help the DOG to feel better. Stay cool!

mazco34 - August 6, 2010

Judy,

I’m sure he does swim. And when he get out of the water, he shakes his head a bit and his hair is perfect.

Grey, but perfect.

Peeps - August 8, 2010

Thank you. It’s mighty nice having low maintenance hair.

Peeps - August 8, 2010

I do swim, and perhaps I should head out to the beach after work. Except I’m too beat to consider it.

2. Anne - August 6, 2010

Oh, yeah. I’m with you. I work for a lawn care company. In North Carolina. In the Summer (and the other seasons, too). I believe the worst war story was a 10 cubic yard pile of mulch spread with pitchforks and wheelbarrows, in 95 degrees. Have you ever had that large a pile of mulch? It steams. It’s hot. Thankfully I don’t have to do it every day. But my AB- blood has been replaced with Gatorade.

Peeps - August 8, 2010

Ouch. I feel for you. I stick to plain water, mostly because it’s cheap and Gatorade is kinda nasty. The other day I downed three liters of water in just a few hours.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

