jump to navigation

August Third Thursday August 19, 2010

Posted by Peeps in Cooking, Cooking Challenge, random stuff, Third Thursday.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Photobucket
Wow, it’s the end of August already. The last Third Thursday of the Summer. And I haven’t even started most of what I’d planned on getting done out on the smoker yet.

But one of the joys of Summer is homemade ice cream.  Generally, Toys and I take turns deciding what flavor to make for each batch of ice cream we do.  And even though the most recent choice was mine, she was the one who found what I was looking for.  Double Cookie Dough Ice Cream.  It just sounds decadent.   And since it was my turn to make ice cream, Toys was kind enough to ask me to write about it.

Apparently, Annie’s Eats is pretty much a regular stop for my wife during her blog browsing in search of good stuff.  And I’m glad.

Since there’s already a link to the recipe, I won’t bore you with the step by step stuff.  Suffice it to say that I made the cookie dough according to the directions. Almost.
Photobucket
As I was using large chocolate chips, I only used half a cup. It would have been overwhelming with more.  That got stashed in the fridge to cool and solidify.
The ice cream itself was simple enough. Separate eggs.
Photobucket
Whisk with sugar.
Photobucket
Make custard.
Photobucket
Strain and cool. All standard stuff.  The browning of the butter was a fantastic idea.  It added so much depth of flavor.
The cooled custard went into the ice cream maker.
Photobucket
As an aside, if you own a stand mixer, you need to run right out and get the ice cream freezer attachment for it. Seriously. You may not use it often, but lots more often than you think. It’s great.
Photobucket
Then the cookie dough gets cut up while the ice cream is churning to be added once it’s done.
Photobucket
I decided to let the machine do the work for me rather than stir it all up in a container.  I’m lazy.  Toys asked that we leave out the chocolate chips from the ice cream itself.    She prefers it that way.  Okay, I can live with it.

The verdict?  It was mighty damn good.  The ice cream itself tasted very much like cookie dough.  I would probably brown the butter for the actual cookie dough next time, since it needs to be melted anyway.  Another couple minutes wouldn’t kill me.  And what’s one more pan to wash?

I would do this again in a shot.  It wasn’t hard, and aside from the heavy cream, we keep everything for it in the house.  That alone makes this a keeper.  Thanks, Annie.

If you’d like to play along with our Third Thursday challenge, leave a comment with a link to (or description of) your Third Thursday project – tell us what you’re up to!  For loose guidelines, or if you want to check out some past Thursdays, they’re right here! 

Comments

1. sjbraun - August 19, 2010

Ice cream freezer attachment? No way! Very cool, although judging by the cost of other Kitchen Aid attachments, I bet it ain’t cheap, huh? That ice cream looks so wonderful. I think I gained 5 lb just reading this post.

Here’s mine:
http://girlsinwhitedresses.wordpress.com/2010/08/19/tomato-and-corn-pie/

Ooh, ooh, I’ve got tomatoes! And corn is, well, it’s cheap and EVERYWHERE! (I think I saw that recipe when it was published, and I’ve got it bookmarked too!)

About the ice cream attachment – it wasn’t that bad – it was about the same price as the Cuisinart free-standing ice cream maker that we were considering, and it was rated about the same. We ultimately went with the attachment because, well, we didn’t need a another WHOLE SEPARATE appliance! Though now we’re kind of locked into keeping the same model KitchenAid for the rest of our lives. . . or at least as long as we’re gonna want to eat ice cream. 😉

2. Anne - August 19, 2010

Me! Me! *waving hand wildly* Choose me!

Being vegetarian, I am always on the lookout for more variety. I will die of boredom if I have to eat the same three things every week!

I recently tried http://vegandad.blogspot.com/2010/04/red-lentil-sloppy-joes.html. Vegan Dad has some really nice recipes that aren’t too fancy. These sloppy joes were great! I intend to make them again soon with regular green/brown/hearty lentils. The recipe also freezes really well, so it’s good for a super quickie meal. Especially if you planned ahead and bought the plain ruffled potato chips, which just seem mandatory. Oh, and the pickles. 🙂

Anne, there you are! Those sloppy joes sound wonderful – I never think of using lentils “instead of” meat (which is what happens, I guess, when you’re not a vegetarian) – I tend to use, oh, other meat in place of meat. 😆

Seriously, I am so trying this! We’ve got red lentils (and brown ones) (and some green ones). Thanks!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

