jump to navigation

Wednesday’s Child August 25, 2010

Posted by Toy Lady in Family, Home, mirth & woe, random stuff.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Monday’s child is fair of face,
Tuesday’s child is full of grace,
Wednesday’s child is full of woe,
Thursday’s child has far to go,
Friday’s child is loving and giving,
Saturday’s child works hard for a living,
But the child that’s born on the Sabbath day
Is bonny, blithe, good and gay.

Photobucket

I’ve been feeling a little out of sorts lately – I don’t know.

I suppose it’s a combination of things – tiredness, certainly, and too much in-my-head, for sure.

My mother called the other day.

I’m not really sure, exactly, why she called.  I mean, it wasn’t that she missed me, or wanted my opinion on anything, I don ‘t think.

(sigh)

Yeah.

Let’s see.  I’ve probably mentioned this – I’m the oldest of four children – one sister a year younger, and two brothers, several years younger.

(My father evidently worked nights for several years, and, well, eventually my two brothers came along.  Eventually.  ACK!   Pictures!)

Ahem.

Anyway.

I was the oldest.  (Still am, actually.)

See, here’s the thing.

I have one child.  None of that sibling rivalry to deal with – I have my Surly Boy and I love him, and the only competition he (maybe) has would be the Big Lug.  And really.  Come on.  We’re talking about a dog here.

A cute, fuzzy-wuzzy, adorable dog, yes, but a dog all the same.

So my mother called the other day.  I think she was bored and/or lonely.

You see, my sister and her children (three of them) were in Georgia on vacation, visiting the children’s other grandparents (and their father).

The rest of the year, my sister and her children live with my parents.

While I have a mortgage to worry about.

My sister (and her children) live with my parents.

My oldest niece is 15.

Do you remember being a teenager?  I sure do, and it was a miserable time of my life.  I was what they call a “difficult teenager” – as was my Surly Boy.  And, apparently, so is my niece.

She’s giving her grandmother fits.

I can see that – I mean, my mother is, what, closing in on 70?  Whatever, her “parenting” days should be behind her and she should be enjoying being a grandparent.

But she’s not.  I’m sure she has her reasons (don’t we all?), but my mother has taken, once more, the role of “bad guy” and “disciplinarian” with these kids, while their mother . . .

Anyway.

Maybe she’s looking to me for some sort of insight as to how to deal with a surly teenager.

But here’s the thing.  When you’re told that someone is “even worse” than you were . . . that kind of hurts.  When you’re told that TWICE over the course of several months?  You start to feel a little . . . put out.  Insulted, even.

I mean, I was a kid.  I wasn’t trying to be the pinnacle of awfulness on purpose.  And I’m sure my niece isn’t trying to break my record for being horrible.

Maybe she just feels like no one listens to her or respects her.  Like the people who control every facet of her life don’t actually know or care who she is or what she wants.

Maybe she just can’t be herself, because herself just isn’t good enough.

I know how that feels.

Comments

1. judy - August 25, 2010

(((( )))). Lots.

thanks, Judy. 🙂

2. Peeps - August 25, 2010

If she turns out even half as good as you did, she’ll be a great person.

To hear it told, she’s doomed. 🙄

Mazco34 - August 25, 2010

Geez, enough already. She loves you, she puts up with you, and for some reason, she married you. There’s isn’t any need for further butt puckering.

Nice. Real nice. 🙄

3. sjbraun - August 26, 2010

Awww … moms, what can I say? They can be difficult, and they sure as heck can say the most hurtful things (I say this because I get this type of thing from my mom. A LOT!). HUGS to you; and also, thanks for giving me hope that “difficult” teens can grow up to be so great!

It just kind of makes you wonder what these people who drummed “if you can’t say something nice don’t say anything at all” into you are THINKING, doesn’t it?


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

