jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 08.30.2010 Edition August 29, 2010

Posted by Toy Lady in Musings, random stuff.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Happy Monday – the LAST full week of summer!  Wow, can you believe that next week is Labor Day?  We’ve barely made a dent in our summer to-do list (you have one of those too, right?) – and here we are, staring September right in the face.

Well, there’s always the fall to-do list, right?

Photobucket

Photobucket

We did (finally!) get to scratch one thing off our list, though – the annual outside paint touch-up.  Our contractor told us that after they replaced the roof, we’d have some painting to do – so it only made sense to wait.  So, bright and early (we’re talking 8:00), before the sun got too high, Peeps was up on the roof painting, and I was painting the porch.

I am so glad that’s done for another year.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Peeps and I enjoyed a lovely Date Night this weekend – we had dinner at a local restaurant right on the lake, with outside seating.  What a great evening – the weather was perfect, the food was good, the lake was gorgeous, and, of course, the company was everything I could ask for!

Besides the sailboats, water skiiers and jet-skis in the distance, there was even a guy flying a, um, paraglider of some sort.  How awesomely cool to watch, huh?

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

So this was another market weekend, and, as usual, I kind of stocked up Saturday morning.

Which meant that I had a lot of veggies to clean and cut and slice and deal with – all with Up-My-Butt puppy right under my feet.

I fixed him, though.  It was a gorgeous day, so I pulled a bone out of the freezer, put the dog on his chain and sent him on his merry way.

He spent some time gnawing and enjoying the fresh air, and I got my corn cut off the ears.  A win-win, I’d say, wouldn’t you?

Photobucket

Photobucket

The green beans are still going strong – it’s just enough that we have more than we can use (that is, if we don’t want to eat green beans every night), but not really enough to make it worth freezing them.  It’s a good thing we’ve got neighbors, huh?

Photobucket

Photobucket

Well, first, I want to thank all the southerners who’ve been coveting our nice weather the past couple of weeks – we’re looking forward to wall-to-wall sunshine and temperatures close to the 90s again this week.  That’s OK, though – grilling weather is all too precious in these parts, isn’t it?

Photobucket

So anyway, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.

Monday –  I have a boatload of fresh tomatoes to use (have I mentioned that I have a few tomatoes?).  For a change, we’re going to try a salsa cruda – a no-cook tomato sauce.  I’ll be home in the morning to put it together, and then dinner will be a simple matter of cooking the pasta and, of course, tossing a salad.

Tuesday – We’re going to re-visit the Gascony-style grilled pork chops we enjoyed last spring – and this time, we even have fennel pollen!  We’ll steam some rice and harvest some (more) Swiss chard.

Wednesday – I’m going to try my hand this week at baking some rolls – and if you’ve got rolls, you’ve got to have burgers, right?  (Of course!)  We had half a leftover cabbage, so Peeps will make coleslaw, and I’m going to try making half a batch of my baked beans in the Crock-Pot.

Thursday – The forecast is calling for rain Thursday, though it will still be fairly warm.  However, we’ve got a ham bone that ‘s been in the freezer longer than it really needs to be, and we haven’t had proper pea soup in quite a while (except, of course, the fresh pea soup we made last spring).  So there you go – proper pea soup.

Friday –  And it’s pizza night!  By Friday, we’ll more than likely have another boatload of tomatoes for pizza.  Surly Boy may (or may not) be home in time for dinner, but if not, he’ll be home in time to enjoy pizza for breakfast.

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. judy - August 29, 2010

Yum as usual and your weather looked gorgeous! And company coming! All is good. Loved the working spouse in bare feet. That is how I do most things too, sans shoes. Have a great week and scratch Kitty for me. j

I like to go barefoot, too, Jude. I usually spend the better part of the day at work shoeless, too – kind of the advantage of being in a small office!

Oh, and Kitty says hi. 😉

2. sjbraun - August 30, 2010

Sounds like you’ve had a great week! I, too, need to keep using those tomatoes. Not a bad problem to have, though.
I’m jealous of the string beans. I stopped growing them a few years back due to Japanese Beetles loving them. However, this year and last I haven’t seen the beetles, so perhaps I can stick a toe in the water again …

I definitely would try a few more green beans, maybe next year – they’re so worth it! I’ve grown quite spoiled – I don’t bother with out-of-season produce much anymore – except maybe salad.

3. Abbey Taylor - August 30, 2010

Those are mighty awesome pictures. It surely does look like a wonderful day.

Thank you – and yes, it was a great evening!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

