jump to navigation

A Note From Jarly September 17, 2010

Posted by Jarlaxle The Wonder Dog in Big Lug, Family, random stuff.
Tags:
trackback

Long time readers will remember, a couple of years ago, when Mama and Papa  brought me home.  Oh yes, I know I was adopted – I don’t look anything like them!  Sometimes people call me a “pound puppy” – I’d been picked up as a “stray” – no collar, no identification – and brought to the shelter, there to languish until someone either claimed me or adopted me.  And no one claimed me.

I don’t remember what it was like before that, or how I ended up wandering the streets, naked and alone.  But I do remember being there in The Joint.  And I knew, when I saw Mama and Papa, that I’d be able to wrap them around my little tail – THEY were the people for me!

Sure, there have been a few, um, challenges along the way the past couple of years, but the rewards, well, they’ve been well worth it!

And I’m pretty sure I’m one of the lucky ones – how many of my brothers and sister don’t get adopted?  How many live out their lives in bleak, sad  shelters, with no squirrels to chase and no kitties to torment?  So when I saw this opportunity to help raise awareness – well, how could I pass it by?  For every blog post about the PEDIGREE Adoption Drive, Pedigree will donate a bag of dog food to a shelter.

I like food.  And while I have a home and a family (and plenty of kibble!), I didn’t always, and so many other dogs don’t.

  • Each year, more than 4 million dogs end up in shelters and breed rescue organizations. Pedigree created The PEDIGREE Adoption Drive to help shine a spotlight on the plight of these homeless dogs.
  • This year the PEDIGREE Adoption Drive is raising awareness for homeless dogs by donating a bowl of food to shelter dogs for everyone who becomes a “Fan” or “Likes” The PEDIGREE Adoption Drive on Facebook.  So far more than 1  million bowls have been donated.

  • Special for BlogPaws West: For each blog that posts about the PEDIGREE® Adoption Drive through September 19th, PEDIGREE® will donate a bag of their new Healthy Longevity Food for Dogs to shelters nationwide. It’s simple: Write a post, help a dog.

And, now a little music to entertain you – one of my favorite songs!

Comments

1. bear - September 17, 2010

hey there jarly, it’s bear from new jersey and i’m also a shelter rescue. while you were a puppy at adoption, i was 9 years old. i thought i would never get out of that pen. but then some nice lady came to my cage and put her finger in. i licked it and then she began to cry and ran away. a week later she came back and took me home. i was adopted by some big guy and a lady who had treats in her bag. i really, really like it here. they’re really nice to me and let me have the crusts on the pizza (hey, tonight is pizza night!)

Hi, Bear! You know what? Grandma and Grandpa adopted my Uncle Snickers when he was that old – and he’s pretty cool, too.

I almost never get people food, but Mom lets me have pizza crusts, only first she says I have to “earn” them. She makes me sit and stay and come and bring back the ball. . . but I do love my pizza crusts!

2. Anne - September 17, 2010

Hey there Jarly, I’m Lady. My mom is typing this, because of my lack of thumbs. I was in The Joint, too, although I was pretty little. The doc thought I was only 1-2 years old, and I guess I had a pretty good life, cuz I was trained and stuff. I don’t really remember, either. I’ve been here for, like, 8 years now, so I guess I’ll stay around. My dad has a truck and a .. get this .. a SCHOOL BUS to ride around in! How cool is that?!?!?! I like pizza crusts, too.

Aren’t pizza crusts the BEST, Lady? When Papa walks me in the afternoon, we see lots of school buses – they are COOL! Especially when all those little two-legged bald puppies come tumbling off of them! 😆

3. Kath the Cook - September 20, 2010

good job Toys and Peeps!!

🙂 Thanks, Kath!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

