jump to navigation

Going Bananas! October 6, 2010

Posted by Toy Lady in Cooking Light.
Tags: , ,
trackback

HA! What an original title for a blog post about . . . banana bread!  Oh, I do crack myself up sometimes!

Photobucket

So here’s the thing.  Bananas have never been one of my favorite fruits – I mean, if they’re slightly green and not too, ripe, then they’re OK, I guess, as a last choice, if there are no apples around.  They’re not as messy as oranges or grapefruits, at least.

So I don’t know if you’re getting my point here, but I’ve always been kind of ambivalent about bananas.

I do buy them, though – they’re great to keep around for morning smoothies.

Also, I’m kind of cheap.  I know that, if I’m using a single banana every other day, by the end of the week, they’re going to be freckly.  So I might as well pay half the price and buy them that way.  If they go too far, they can always go in the freezer.  Tell me you understand.

Of course you do.

Photobucket

There are two things, though, that, for me bring bananas out of the realm of “ho-hum” and into “yum” – strawberries (there’s a reason “strawberry-banana” is a classic, but you need fresh, local strawberries, not those shipped in, flavorless berries you get in February) and peanut butter.

I have been known to enjoy a 2-banana,  peanut butter smoothie.  I call it my Elvis smoothie.

Thank you.  Thank you very much.

Photobucket

So this month, Cooking Light did a spread on . . .  banana bread, with the cover story entitled “Indulge yourself with the rich flavors of fall.”  And the cover photo?  Well that was a delightful-looking (and sounding!) peanut butter banana bread.

Why, I think we have a winner here!

Now I don’t know about where you are, but here in Upstate New York, the rich flavors of Fall include apples and pumpkins.

Bananas and peanuts are not, well, they’re not really considered a local delicacy, that’s all I’m saying.  So, just to keep with the spirit of things, rather than a half teaspoon of cinnamon and 1/8 teaspoon of allspice, I went ahead and used about a teaspoon or so of pumpkin pie spice instead.

I am such a rebel.

Photobucket

So here’s the thing.  I ended up making this banana bread twice – mainly because I had six over-ripe bananas to use.  See, there comes a point when they’re just too soft and too ripe for smoothies.

They’re too bananery.

And my bananas had reached that point – and I was just about ready to toss them in the freezer when we got the Cooking Light magazine.

And here’s the other thing.  Peeps won’t touch banana bread – even if it has peanut butter.

He does not share my love of all things peanutty, but that’s OK.  I love him anyway.  That, and . . . more for me!

Photobucket

However, I did decide, in this case, that discretion was the way to go, so instead of one single loaf, I made four mini-loaves of this bananery, peanutty delightfulness.

Basically, rather than bake one giant loaf for slightly over an hour, four smaller loaves got baked, on a sheet pan, for about 40 minutes or so.

Plus, if you, say, have your husband chop up a bunch of peanuts for banana bread that he’s not going to eat?  And then you forget to mix those chopped nuts into the batter like you were supposed to?

Photobucket

That’s OK.  I meant to do that!  I just sprinkled the chopped nuts on top of the batter, then baked the four loaves, then wrapped three of them up, first in plastic wrap, then foil.

Of course, sprinkling peanuts on top of the loaves kind of precluded the glaze that was in the recipe, though.  That’s OK – banana bread doesn’t need glaze anyway, right?

These loaves freeze quite nicely, you know.  And you can take one to the office, or you can share one with your son who’s home, or you could even, I don’t know, snarf one down for breakfast one morning.

Too much?  Yeah, a bit.  But seriously – this is a seriously rich and tasty banana bread, and it’s got peanut butter!  I ask you, where is the bad?   Plus, you know, it’s Cooking LIGHT, right?

Comments

1. Susan - October 6, 2010

Well, I love bananas and peanut butter, so this looks just wonderful!! Bookmarking it …

Plus, you know, it’s Cooking Light! 😆 Oh, and I didn’t have plain yogurt, so I used nonfat vanilla – worked just fine!

2. mazco34 - October 6, 2010

Cathy just made some banana bread and while it was mighty tasty, it didn’t rise like the ones in your pics. As for Peeps not enjoying it, well, I do know that he can be a stubborn BOS. (I’d say SOB but I know his mom)

Meh. His loss. The Boy and I enjoyed it just fine without him.

3. judy - October 6, 2010

Beautiful bread! Looks like a winner to me.

Thanks, Jude – it was quite nice. Plus, I think I’ve got 3 loaves in the freezer for a rainy day. 😆


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

