jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 11.01.2010 November 1, 2010

Posted by Toy Lady in Musings, random stuff.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Hello and welcome to November!  I know, how did THAT happen, anyway?

You know what November means, right?  From here until the end of the year, we worry about holidays.

PhotobucketOr we can take a page out of the Big Lug‘s book and just kind of relax with a new chew toy.

You know, buying toys for a big dog gets pretty ridiculous – anything that costs less than $15 or $20 – he can destroy within minutes.  Or worse, swallow whole.

Every so often, though, we realize that all his toys are chewed beyond recognition and we need to replace them – so we make a trip to the pet store, pick up half a dozen or so new toys, and, one by one, they enter the toy rotation.

And I thought raising a kid was hard!

Photobucket

PhotobucketRemember how I went to the market last week and picked up two pie pumpkins (for a buck)?  Well, the first thing I did with those pumpkins was clean them and roast them to puree the pulp for various purposes.

The next thing I did was roast the pumpkin seeds – I love roasted pumpkin (and squash) seeds!

To this batch, I added about a teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice, 1/4 tsp. cayenne, 2 Tbsp. brown sugar, and 2 Tbsp. melted butter.  Then simply roast in a low oven (300°) for about 45 minutes, or until they’re crisp, stirring every 15 minutes or so.

They’re SO good!  They’ve kind of got that sweet-hot thing going on – I love that!

(BTW, check back later in the week to see what else I did with the pumpkin!)

Photobucket

Photobucket

So we headed upstairs to bed the other night, just like we always do, and LOOK who was upstairs on the dresser in the bedroom, hanging out on my clothes for the next day!

Sure, we’d noticed that the cat had been uncharacteristically quiet all evening – usually she likes to taunt the dog – she snarls at him, he barks at her, then he gets yelled at.

She thinks we’re not on to her.  Ha.

Photobucket

Meanwhile, the Big Scary Dog?

Well, he stretched out next to the bed with his Wubba.

Never even noticed she was there.

There’s your ferocious watch dog, huh?

(This is me, rolling my eyes.)

Photobucket

Photobucket

And it’s time for another gripping installment of our “Shopping With Peeps” feature, courtesy of the cell phone.  (You’d think I’d remember to keep a camera in my purse, wouldn’t you?)

Has anyone ever heard of “Cameo Apples?”  I mean, what’s their deal, anyway?

Peeps suggested that maybe they just make a brief appearance and don’t stay around long.

Heh.

I think we’ll stick with the Granny Smiths, thank you very much.  At least I know what they are!

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  There’s really very little point in checking the weather forecast – once November arrives, there’s very little worry about whether we can grill or not!

Monday –  Chicken breasts were on sale this week, so we held out a couple that I didn’t skin – we’ll be enjoying one of the few dishes that we go back to over and over – oven-roasted chicken breast on rosemary and hazelnuts.  The chicken will be served with roasted sweet potatoes (bought them off the back of a truck, from the sweet potato farmer – really!) and, probably, some rice.

Tuesday – Guess what we found buried in the freezer?  A quart container of the sauce for our pork sugo, which will get tossed with some pasta, a healthy bunch of cheese, and baked until everything’s hot through.  Along with a nice salad (I still have surviving lettuce in a pot on the deck!), it’ll be a great mid-week dinner.

Wednesday – I had about a pound of parsnips that I keep forgetting to use, and it seems that I’ve been buying fresh leeks faster than I’ve been using them, so we had to use them before they spoiled – and since Wednesday is traditionally soup night (because of swim class), we’re going to try this creamy parsnip soup, using half-and-half instead of heavy cream, and probably a sprinkle of cooked bacon.  Bacon is always a plus.

Thursday – We made several pounds of ravioli this summer, so we’ve been enjoying a package every couple of weeks or so – since Peeps works with it every day, I hate to serve it too often, but once in a while, it’s a nice change.

Friday – And it’s Pizza Night!  I officially used the Very Last Tomato from my garden on last week’s pizza, so I’ll have to give some thought to what I’m going to do this week . . . maybe roasted beets, maybe thin-sliced potatoes, maybe a bit of pepperoni – I guess we’ll see how the mood strikes, huh?

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. judy - November 1, 2010

Happy November! Still lovely Fall here but much cooler in the a.m’s. Great shots of the “kids” and Kitty looks so good! So glad she came out of her funk finally.

Your menus for the week ahead really sound good although I have never had a pizza with beets but who said it can’t be done. Your freezer with no bottom reminds me the child’s story The Pot That Would Not Stop Boiling which is a good thing.

Take care.

Oh, Judy, the kitty’s still plenty funky! 😀 But you’re right – she is starting to get over it, a little bit, anyway.

And yeah, I’m not sure about the beet pizza thing, really. Though it might be good with feta cheese and some fresh rosemary. Hmmm. . .

2. sjbraun - November 1, 2010

I can’t wait to see what you do with the pumpkins, as I have 3 of a similar size sitting outside just waiting for their next act …
The cameo apples crack me up. They are expensive!
Happy week to you and Peeps!

Thanks, Susan, you too!

You know, I thought those apples were kind of expensive, too, especially for so early in the year. I know the Honeycrisps are priced higher than the others, but still. I’m just as happy with the Granny Smiths we picked for 60 cents!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

