jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 11.08.2010 November 8, 2010

Posted by Toy Lady in Musings, random stuff.
trackback

PhotobucketHere it is, fall.  Already.

And I just realized that we forgot to bring in the chair cushions from the deck.

Fortunately, we’re expecting a few nice days this week – we’re going to have to make sure to take care of that in the next few days.

PhotobucketPhotobucket

So you remember how the puppy was having, um, digestive issues?

The vet seems to think, rather than nausea caused by his anti-inflammatory pills, it’s some kind of  a reflux thing.  A thing which is, evidently, not uncommon in dogs.

In addition to yet more pills (antacids – for heartburn!), the best thing we can do for him is let gravity do its work – which, for us, means feeding him on a chair, which will allow the food to work its way down into his stomach . . .

I’ve gotta tell you, it’s far more anatomy than a regular person should ever be exposed to, but as long as it keeps Mr. Barfy at bay, I’ll learn to live with it, I guess.

Photobucket

PhotobucketOh, hey, look!

It’s time change weekend, and the Christmas cactus is loaded with blossoms!

I don’t know what it is, but evidently, that extra hour (or that one hour less – I can never keep track of how it works!) seems to tell the Christmas cactus that it’s time to go to town!

From now at least until the New Year, we’ll be enjoying the blossoms on this plant.

And it always starts when the clocks change – how does it know?

Photobucket

Photobucket

Poor puppy.

He’s so patient while I spend the better part of the day doing kitchen things and other housework.

But he knows that, sooner or later, I’m going to succumb to that sad, pitiful look and play with him!

Photobucket

Photobucket

This was a market week – and boy did I score!

The pumpkin lady still had pie pumkins at 2 for $1, so I picked up a couple more pumpkins.  I also got a couple of butternuts for $1 each and some buttercups at 3 for $1.

Then there was the kale – both Tuscan and curly kale – I do love my fresh, local, seasonal produce!

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  We’ve had our first frost, and we’ve seen some signs of snow flurries, so it’s time to resign ourselves to the fact that Fall is well and truly here.

Photobucket

Except, of course, for Indian Summer.  We’re all set for some lovely cold-weather dishes, and out comes the grilling weather – go figure!

Monday – We’ve got a bunch of tomato-basil sausage in the freezer that we, well, we didn’t love it, so we thought it might be good buried disguised highlighted in soup.  Add to that the fact I’ve got squash to burn, and, well, Butternut Squash and Italian Sausage Soup seems like a good idea.

Tuesday – Every season, we find a couple of recipes that are just so good – and we spend the rest of the year waiting for that season to make them again.  Chicken Goulash with Biscuit Dumplings is one of those recipes – it’s been so long!

Wednesday – Again with the score at the market this week!  Since I got a gorgeous bunch of lacinato kale (“dinosaur kale”), I thought something that highlighted this sort of homely “black cabbage” would be just the thing – and sure enough, Zuppa con cavolo nero e fagioli should more than fill the bill, eh?

Thursday – Peeps is in charge of the pork tenderloin we’ll be enjoying, and since the forecast is calling for sunny and 60 degrees, he opted for Alton Brown’s Grilled Pork Tenderloin – and along with the rest of the small red potatoes and some tossed salad, we’ll have one last warm weather-type meal this week.

Friday – I saved a bit of the Tuscan kale from the soup – I plan to saute that, along with some caramelized onions and maybe even a little browned bacon – that should make a great topping for pizza, don’t you think?

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. Barb Cooper - November 8, 2010

We had some snow this morning, but haven’t had a frost yet. Which is good because I totally forgot to have the company come out and shut down my sprinkler system!

I made butternut squash soup on Saturday. (http://www.tastefull.com/recipes/search?terms=Orange%20Butternut%20Squash%20Soup&tags=spring –follow loosely.) It was so great I hated to freeze it but I am trying to get ahead of the wave of house guests we’re having starting on Wednesday. When exactly is too early to start Thanksgiving cooking??

Barb, I LOVE butternut soup!

I’ll be honest, though – I haven’t actually hosted a holiday in decades – I live the farthest away from the rest of the family, and, honestly, no one wants to drive this far for a day. Except, of course, me, evidently. 😕

2. Julia - November 8, 2010

The Butternut Squash and Italian Sausage Soup sounds amazing. I bookmarked the recipe. Thanks for sharing your wonderful ideas!

Thanks, Julia, and thanks for visiting! Hope you enjoy the soup.

3. judy - November 8, 2010

The chicken and dumplings recipe made my mouth water. I am going to bookmark it for DD. She is always looking for new stuff that will have left overs for the work week!

Hope the eating sitting up works for the pup. I have heard of that before as my niece is a vet.

Judy, the chicken is fantastic – we use hot paprika (of course) but that can easily be cooled down with sweet.

And honestly, I have never heard of feeding the dog like that – so far so good, though. I just have to try to keep him sitting for a few minutes – until he burps.

4. sjbraun - November 8, 2010

I hope your dog is doing better! Your cactus is beautiful (I’ve never had one of those … hmmm …), and I’m envious of your deal on pumpkins. Have a great week!

I love the Christmas cactus – I keep wanting to get a second one, maybe a different color, but I realize I just don’t have room for it!

And the pumpkins – I KNOW, right? How could I pass them by?

5. Zom G. - November 11, 2010

Beautiful cavolo Nero, you lucky duck! I had to make do with a very sad bunch indeed this week. Did you like the soup? Have a brilliant week!

Thanks, Zom, you too! The soup was fantastic – of course, fresh kale, freshly cooked beans, homemade chicken stock and pasta – how can you really go wrong?


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

