jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 11.15.2010 November 15, 2010

Posted by Toy Lady in random stuff, Shopping With Peeps, Stupor Kitty.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Photobucket

Can you believe it’s officially the Middle of November?  Holy cow!

But even the kitty is enjoying the prematurely-blooming Christmas cactus.  I swear, every day there are more and more blossoms on that thing – it’s like a reminder that not only haven’t I started shopping, I haven’t even thought about Christmas shopping yet.

Photobucket

PhotobucketSo last week, I tried something a little different with my pizza – I had a bit of Tuscan kale left from a soup (which I’ll tell you about later on), Peeps caramelized a chopped onion, and I cooked some bacon.  Add that to just enough cheese to keep it on the pizza, and, I’ve got to be honest, it was amazing.

Who knew you could do so much with pizza crust?

Photobucket

Photobucket

Oh, hey, Shopping With Peeps!

Hold on to your hat for . . .Soup Socks!

It appears to be a cheesecloth-type bag, intended to line a soup pot – fine.  I guess, though I kind of like my “stuff” in my soup.

Photobucket

While it might be just the thing for stock – what I really object to is the fact that they’re four bucks.

I mean, really, I think, for $4, I can strain my soup, don’t you?

I mean, um, just how lame is the average consumer, anyway?

Photobucket

Photobucket

Don’t forget this week is the Third Thursday of the month!  Please feel free to join us for this month’s Third Thursday event – just “borrow” a recipe (or any other technique) from someone else’s blog and tell us about it!

Complete details are here, and remember, the more the merrier!

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  Autumn is just flying by, isn’t it?  We had an evening to fire up the grill last week, and it looks like we may get so lucky again this week, too – it’s November, for crying out loud!

Photobucket

We’re still working on cleaning out the freezer – I’m starting to suspect that someone’s sneaking in here and putting excess stuff in the freezer!

Monday – Last summer, we found a special on “porterhouse tails” – it turns out that this is, basically, the beef trimmed from the bottom (“tail”) of the porterhouse steak.  It’s a thin slice of what’s essentially NY Strip steak, rolled up into a pinwheel shape.  These are great skewered and grilled, and if we can’t grill, we can always pan-fry or even broil them.  We’ve also got some beautiful carrots that we’ll roast, using Cook’s Illustrated‘s recipe for “Great Roasted Carrots” – hey, I expect nothing less from CI, you know?  And really, what goes better with a Cook’s Illustrated than some smiley fries?

Tuesday – And still with the magazine project  the current Cooking Light magazine includes a recipe for pan-fried chicken fingers with spicy dipping sauce – I don’t know what we’ll do with the chicken, though.  Maybe salad, maybe sweet potatoes, maybe kale. . .

Wednesday – Wednesday is swim class – and soup night.  We had some BBQ turkey in the freezer (smoked turkey smothered in homemade barbecue sauce) that I thought would make a decent soup with some pinto beans, fresh kale and chicken stock.  And, of course, plenty of bread.  It’ll be good, really.

Thursday – We’ve got a boneless leg of lamb that has been hanging around in the freezer for long enough.  Peeps will be in charge of that dinner, so I can’t say quite what he’ll be doing.   I’m not sure he’s quite decided, actually.

Friday –  Friday is usually pizza night, but this week, it’s being pre-empted for date night – we’ve got tickets for the Straight No Chaser concert that night.  They’re great, and I’ve been looking forward to this for ages!

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. Joanna - November 15, 2010

That soup sock is hysterical! I actually make stock in my big pasta pot with the pasta insert. It makes it super easy to remove all of the large solids, but I still have to strain the herbs out sometimes 🙂

Joanna, that’s a great idea! I usually use my HUGE stock pot for stock, but when I make a smaller batch, using the pasta pot with the insert would be brilliant!

2. sjbraun - November 15, 2010

Oooh … Straight No Chaser is from my alma mater – have a wonderful time. They are great!
Thanks for the great tomato soup recipes. You know, I was thinking at some point yesterday I just needed to search your site for some good recipes for that – so thank you for doing it for me 🙂
I keep thinking of that little perler bead star point hanging on your tree, courtesy of SB … that is so sweet.
Enjoy your week!

I love SNC!

And that poor old star – I think it’s broken apart so that, rather than a six-pointed star, I have six star points – but I still hang them every year!

3. judy - November 15, 2010

Nice flowers, nice cat, nice column today. I will be there for the lamb dinner. What can I bring?

Have a good week. j

Judy, you just bring yourself, and we’ll set a place for you! 😀

4. mazco34 - November 15, 2010

Four bucks to keep “stuff” out of soup? Just curious, does Peeps feel the same way about “stuff” and he does about “things?”

Oh, maybe even more so!

5. Miz Helen - November 15, 2010

Your menu looks great. I would love your chicken fingers. Thank you for sharing.
Miz Helen

Thanks, Ms. Helen. We’re certainly looking forward to trying them!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

