jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 11.29.2010 Edition November 29, 2010

Posted by Toy Lady in Musings, random stuff.
Tags: ,
trackback

Happy, happy Monday-after-a-holiday!  I trust everyone out there in Internet Land had a lovely Thanksgiving weekend!

Photobucket

This year, Peeps took the opportunity to drive to New Jersey to help his mom get ready for The Big Move, while I stayed home with the Big Baby and got some painting done, starting with the ceiling.

It’s kind of neat, when painting a colored ceiling white, how much easier it is to see your progress, isn’t it?

Photobucket

Speaking of progress, I almost never get as much done during my vacations time as I’d like to.  I had intended to paint the entire front entry (which I did) and get a good start on new curtains (which I didn’t).  I really need to start having more reasonable expectations of myself, I think.  I’m not even a doctor, and certainly not a machine.

Photobucket

Photobucket

One thing I did do, though, was do some shopping on Black Friday.

Oh, not at Walmart for a big screen TV, or Best Buy for a net book.  Oh, no.

I went to a local butcher shop for a whole rib roast, and another butcher shop for a whole strip loin.

Which I took home and butchered myself into many steaks, roasts, and packages of beef to grind.

And Jarly didn’t get a bit – no matter how hard he sniffed!

Photobucket

Photobucket

So Peeps spent several days in New Jersey – which is apparently the junk food capital of the world!

He was even a sport and brought home a “crave case” from White Castle – 30 wee little burgers (the original “sliders”!) all in individual little cartons packed in a big cardboard “case.”

Ain’t America great?

Photobucket

Photobucket

Did I mention I did some painting this weekend?

And that I, um, had some help?

We maybe should have named the dog Joseph, what with his Coat of Many Colors and all.

That would be Cancun Sand on his, erm, flank, and what you don’t see here is the next day’s installment of Fiddle Leaf on his butt and tail.

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.   We’re trying to keep things as simple as possible this week, because, honestly, we’re beat!  Between Peeps’s road trip, and my painting and cleaning all weekend, we’d both probably be OK with cold cereal, or scrambled eggs and toast all week!  Or is that just exhaustion talking?

Monday – Since I scored all those steaks this weekend, it only seems right to enjoy them, doesn’t it?  So we’ll either grill or pan-fry one of each: a rib-eye and a NY strip steak.  We’ll also roast some sweet potatoes and have a fresh tossed salad.

Tuesday – We’ve got some boneless pork chops to use up, as well as some apple cider.  That, to me, says cider-glazed pork chops, an old favorite of ours.  I’ve still got kale from the public market, and plenty of squash, both of which will complement the chops.

Wednesday – Wednesday, being swim class night, is crock-pot night.  I did get a pot of chili made over the weekend, and, just like any other soup or stew, it benefits from time in the fridge, so Peeps will set it up in the crock-pot early in the afternoon, and we’ll enjoy it already hot.

Thursday – From the Lost Recipe File – I have this recipe for Chicken Diane.  I don’t know where it came from, but I know I’ve made it before (a LONG time ago!), so we’ll see if it stands the test of time.  It should work nicely with some rice and maybe a tossed salad.

Friday – And it’s pizza night – yay!  We missed out on pizza night last week, and not only did I miss fresh pizza, Jarly missed his Kong toy and leftover crusts the next day.  Thank goodness things are getting back to normal!

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. mazco34 - November 29, 2010

I had an assistant like you that once. His job was to ensure that the paint was dry. And boy, was he good at it. He had a good bit of antique white on his back and tail. And brush hairs are easier to remove that dog hairs.

And I didn’t even mention how much fun it is to stand on the stairs painting with a dog wrapped around your ankles!

mazco34 - November 29, 2010

Geez, can you tell it’s Monday?

Yeah, that’s why I think I’m going to start boycotting Mondays.

2. Anne - November 29, 2010

Did Jarly sit in the paint tray AGAIN?? 🙂 That’s too funny, but he was probably miffed because he didn’t get any of that meat! Mean Mommy! (Mine got the icky innards from the T’giving turkey. No one else wanted them anyway.)

Nah, he leans up against the wet walls. The first time, I was just finishing up, getting suited up to take him for his walk, and he settled in his “spot” on the landing. The second time, he was just lurking around trying to be as close as he could to “up my butt” without getting caught. *sigh*


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

