jump to navigation

Thing #65: Chill-axin’ November 30, 2010

Posted by Toy Lady in 101 Things.
Tags:
trackback

I was reviewing my 101 Things List the other day, when I realized that (a) I have a lot of things to accomplish in the next few months, and (b) some of them just aren’t going to happen.

But some of them CAN happen – as long as I’m paying attention.  Like:

65. Take a real vacation – at least a week!

So, OK, I’m not very good at vacations.

I mean, I don’t have far-flung family to descend upon for a few days – all my family is easily within driving distance, and Peeps’s mom, well, before we know it, she’ll be within walking distance.

And quite frankly, I’ve got better things to do with my money than spend it on travel, hotels and sight-seeing.  And don’t even get me started on the whole TSA thing – you can keep your radiation to yourself, and ain’t nobody touching my junk.  (Nobody unauthorized, anyway, and I’m going to just leave it at that.)

And then there’s the whole dog thing.  Cats are fairly self-sufficient – you can find someone to make sure they have enough food and water every couple of days or so, but a dog, well, he requires attention.

Walking.

Medication.

Fussing, even.

So I stay home.

Which means that, really, I don’t take a lot of vacation time.  Long weekends, sure.  A “mental health day” here and there – of course.

But the last time I took an entire week’s vacation was the summer after I bought this house, and I spent it painting and doing other “new house” projects.  Since then, it’s been a day here, a couple of days there, and that’s about it.

Now Peeps and I had planned to both take the long Thanksgiving weekend to help his mom with her packing – I’d even put in for the day before and two days after as vacation time – but then circumstances conspired so that I just wasn’t comfortable either boarding the dog, having him stay with someone else, or having someone stay with him.

So Peeps went on to New Jersey, and I stayed home.  Alone.

Woo.  Vacation for one.

So what does one done while on a week’s vacation alone?

Well, I did a little shopping.

And I did a little painting.

And I did some cooking.

And I watched a couple of movies, drank some wine, and fell asleep on the couch a couple of times.

And I guess, when it comes to vacations, that’s about as good as I’m going to get.

Comments

1. sjbraun - November 30, 2010

Hmmmm … mixed feelings on this. I *do* love to travel, but most all of my really neat travel was pre-kids. And yeah, pets confine one quite a bit – particularly dogs. A bunch of people here have dogs, and they board them. I think that would be really expensive. Our neighbors have 2 big dogs and have one of my girls dog-sit when they’re gone, but she walks over 3x/day to feed/let them out. It’s a lot! Still though, I hope you can take a really neat trip somewhere in the near future, somehow. I’m crossing my fingers for you!

Maybe we should have your daughter dog-sit for us! 😆 Honestly, sometimes I feel like I make excuses, but if I’m honest, I think the practical side of my nature kind of rebels against the idea of purely having fun when there’s so much to be done!

2. mazco34 - November 30, 2010

Boarding the pets is a big problem. Our last dog went into depression; so much so that the kennel refunded the play time charge.
Our current dog has been abandoned 3 times. I can’t even think what he would feel if we took him to a kennel. It would be traumatic for all of us.

And big dogs are even harder than small ones – I think the nearest kennel that boards large dogs is in the next county – not a short trip, by any means!

3. Monday Musings: 12.13.2010 Edition « Dark Side of the Fridge - December 13, 2010

[…] make a batch of bean soup for when he got home, but, unfortunately, between chili and kale soup and painting, I just didn’t get it done, and I’ve felt awful about it. Now that we’ve finally […]


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

