jump to navigation

But cream cheese IS a dairy product December 2, 2010

Posted by Toy Lady in baking, Cooking, Food, random stuff.
Tags: ,
trackback

Every time I go in for a physical, one of the first things the doctor asks is whether I’m getting “enough dairy.”

I suspect that, because I’m somewhat overweight, the assumption is that I don’t eat a healthy diet.  She’s always astounded when my bloodwork comes back, and I don’t have elevated blood sugar, and my “good cholesterol” is very high, and the “bad cholesterol” is extremely low. It’s all that clean living, I’m telling you.

So I guess I’m getting to the age where “enough dairy” is a bit of a concern.  I assure the doctor, though, that of COURSE I eat plenty of dairy – I’m a Wisconsin gal, after all.

We drink our milk in pint glasses – that’s 2 servings right there, every time I have a glass of milk.  And then there’s the daily yogurt, the fairly regular dishes of cottage cheese and fruit, and, of course, occasional enjoyment of various cheeses.  However, she didn’t seem to pleased when I asked her if butter counts as dairy.

Photobucket

And we didn’t even bring up cream cheese.  I do love a good cream cheese frosting, don’t you?  I mean, it’s just so good for so many things – there’s the obvious, carrot cake.  And cinnamon rolls – is there anything better than a fresh, warm cinnamon roll with melty cream cheese frosting?  And how about adding a little melted chocolate to your cream cheese frosting?  Delightful!

And get this – cream cheese is a dairy product!

So anyhow, the other day, we ordered the Beater Blade for the stand mixer.  It’s really a nifty thing – it’s basically the paddle for the mixer, with a rubber spatula integrated, which helps keep the bowl scraped, especially at the bottom, where butter and soft ingredients tend to just sit and not get mixed in.

PhotobucketOf course, we had to test it – the instructions direct us to adjust the height of the mixer head as necessary, by way of a single screw.

Who knew?

It’s recommended to test the blade with soft butter.  That’s all well and good, but what do you do with a bunch of beaten soft butter?

PhotobucketI mean, sure, I guess I could have made cookies, and I probably will soon.  But honestly?  I really have to be in the mood to be chained to the oven, baking in 10-minute increments.  And also?  Do I really need a batch of cookies lying around the house at the beginning of a long weekend where I’ll be home by myself?  I think not.

So I said to myself:

Self, what if I make a batch of cinnamon rolls, sample one, and send the rest to Jersey with Peeps for him and his mom to enjoy?

PhotobucketSo I went ahead and brought some butter up to room temperature, then I pulled out my old Joy of Cooking and looked up that really good cream cheese frosting recipe I used a while back. . .

Because here’s what the Joy has to say about the secret to really good, perfectly creamy cream cheese frosting – first, don’t overbeat it, and second, start with cold cream cheese.

Did you get that?  Cold cream cheese.
PhotobucketI know, right?  It’s illogical, but trust me on this – it works.  For a delightfully simply, smooth cream cheese frosting, one that will grace any carrot cake, brownie, cinnamon roll, or, um, bowl and spoon, it’s this simple:

Beat just until blended:

  • 8 ounces cold cream cheese (I even use low-fat!)
  • up to 5 Tbsp. room temperature unsalted butter (optional)
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • a pinch of salt

When just blended, add, 1/3 at a time, 2 to 2½ cups of sifted powdered sugar.  And that’s it.  If it’s too thick, beat a little more; if not thick enough, add a little more sugar.

Now that’s my kind of test!

 

 

Comments

1. judy - December 2, 2010

Yum. One question though is how many rolls made it to Jersey? 🙂

Heh. Actually, I made two pans of rolls. I only had one (roll) – I took one pan to Peeps’s work for Boss and the others to enjoy, and Peeps took the other pan – unopened – with him.

I figured it the sooner I get them out of the house, the better off I’d be. 😀

judy - December 3, 2010

Good on you! I want a pan for Christmas! I really do. Let’s share it with coffee and conversation!

Sounds like a plan, Jude! 😆

2. Anne - December 2, 2010

I’m thinking that a bowl of soft butter would call for a loaf of bread in the bread machine. One loaf, one bowl, it all comes out exactly even. 🙂

I’m thinking you’re right, Anne. After all, dairy is so important, isn’t it?

3. Swistle - December 3, 2010

The whole post is good, but the part that tipped it into awesomeness was where you put what you said to yourself in an indented quote block. I read that part, like, three times, just to enjoy it again.

Thanks. I frequently talk to myself in indented-like quotes. 😀


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

