jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 12.13.2010 Edition December 13, 2010

Posted by Toy Lady in Musings, Shopping With Peeps.
Tags:
trackback

PhotobucketI’m not sure if I mentioned it or not, but I put together a butternut squash lasagna last weekend.

Well, I had some extra stuff left over, so I decided to pull out a couple of bowls that I’d picked up at the pottery shop last year and try making a couple of mini lasagnas.

It was BRILLIANT! The lasagna was fantastic, plus, baking it in the pottery bowls just made sense – we could bake and serve it in the same dish!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Peeps and I did some freezer cleaning last weekend – mainly, it was a matter of taking inventory.

After all, it’s tough to clean out the freezer if you don’t know what’s there, right? Yeah.

One of the things we found was a package containing two smoked turkey racks from last summer – which translated to 9 quarts of stock.

PhotobucketBoy, it’s a good thing it’s been cold and snowy this week, huh? Now’s the time to take advantage of the Outdoor Backup Refrigeration System, otherwise known as a couple of feet of snow on the deck.

Winter is pretty lousy for a lot of things, but it’s great for keeping stock cool overnight!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Oh, hey, it’s Shopping With Peeps!

We found a 14-ounce package of cinnamon sticks at the supermarket.

What does one do with nearly a pound of cinnamon sticks?

I mean, sure, you could infuse an ice cream base with cinnamon, and that’s, like, two sticks.

I don’t know, but for 2 bucks, I guess we’ll figure something out.

Photobucket

PhotobucketYou know how I made that butternut squash lasagna last weekend?

Yeah, I still had plenty of ricotta to use up, so I also pulled some sauce from the freezer and made some lasagna muffins.

This time, I went the traditional route – marinara sauce, ricotta filling, and a surprise layer of alfredo sauce.

Well, I don’t want to be too predictable, do I?

Photobucket

Photobucket

My boy came home for the night last week – isn’t he handsome?

He’d been working all day, gone home to shower, change, and have dinner, then drove an hour and a half, which is why he looks, um, not 100%.

He had a court appearance first thing the next morning.

*sigh*

Speeding ticket. Those size-13’s are evidently mighty heavy on the gas pedal.

*sigh*

Photobucket

Photobucket

Don’t forget this week is the Third Thursday of the month! Please feel free to join us for this month’s Third Thursday event – just “borrow” a recipe (or any other technique) from someone else’s blog and tell us about it!

Complete details are here, and remember, the more the merrier!

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan. We are well and truly into winter here – and not only that, but we’re into “year-end” which means I am SWAMPED at work. And what that basically means is that I’m dumping a lot more of the responsibility for dinner on Peeps – we never know when I’m going to be home, so he’s more than happy to pick up the slack for the time being.

What a guy, huh?

Monday – We finally received the latest Cook’s Illustrated magazine, and besides the fantastic chili recipe that I jumped all over as soon as I saw it online, there was also a recipe for glazed salmon. We can do that! And if we can manage to dig any of the Swiss chard out from under the snow, that’ll be a perfect side, along with some rice. If not, salad it is.

Tuesday – Peeps is going to put together a chicken pie – probably with plenty of vegetables (I hope) and a biscuit topping (probably). It’s going to be pretty much made up as he goes along, so that’s all I know. We love chicken pot pie.

Wednesday – It’s swim class, so it’s soup night. While Peeps was helping his mom at Thanksgiving, I’d hoped to make a batch of bean soup for when he got home, but, unfortunately, between chili and kale soup and painting, I just didn’t get it done, and I’ve felt awful about it. Now that we’ve finally remembered to soak the beans, we’ll be enjoying a version of ” US Senate Bean Soup” after swim class.

Thursday – We pulled a pork loin roast out of the freezer, and we’ll be roasting that with a maple-syrup glaze.

Let me say that again.

Pork roast with a maple syrup glaze. Oh, and butternut squash (probably roasted) and potatoes.

What more is there to say?

Friday – Friday night is, again, pizza night. I’ve already mixed a bunch of peanut butter with a smaller bunch of oatmeal and stuffed the whole mess into the dog’s Kong toy. We’re going to keep him SO BUSY while we’re enjoying our pizza!

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. Barb Cooper - December 13, 2010

I don’t know how you manage to work more than full-time and still manage to cook like you do. I’m a full-time mom and I can’t even seem to cook dinner every night. Kudos!

Oh, Barb, I’m sure you do just fine! Besides, I have help – Peeps a actually does most of the weekday kitchen stuff. Plus, I’d never be able to make time to knit those gorgeous socks like you do!

2. judy - December 13, 2010

Yummy sounding as always. I love your outside frig! My what long locks. What is that story where the hair gets lowered from the castle top so the hero can climb up?

Stay warm and full and drive carefully. Just saying.

Yeah, somehow, I’m not so sure The Boy would appreciate being equated with Rapunzel. Unless the prince is some chick. 🙄 😆

3. Miz Helen - December 13, 2010

Your menu looks very good. I just love your Lasagna Muffins, good idea. Thank you for sharing and you have a wonderful week!

Why thank you, Miz Helen, you too!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

