jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 12.20.2010 Edition December 20, 2010

Posted by Toy Lady in Holidays Countdown, Musings, random stuff.
trackback

PhotobucketAh,  a market week!    Peeps and I have noted that we’re pretty well stocked on orange vegetables for the moment (butternut squash, pumpkin, buttercups, and sweet potatoes), but we really don’t have much in the way of seasonal green vegetables.

So I picked up some Brussels sprouts (I love them, Peeps, not so much), collard greens (Peeps loves them, me, I can take ’em or leave ’em), and some romaine lettuce (who doesn’t love lettuce?).

And, of course, a few parsnips a loaf of rye bread.  It’s kind of nice to NOT have the refrigerator packed full of vegetables, I’ve got to say.

Photobucket

PhotobucketBefore I forget (again!) – do you have a Coinstar machine near you?  (We have them in, basically, all the major supermarkets.)

So here’s the deal – cash in $40 worth of change, redeem it for an e-certificate (like Amazon, Borders, or Lowes) (and they waive the charges for e-certificates) and get an additional $10 certificate free.

Um, that would be like free money.

Details are here – the Amazon  promotion ends Wednesday the 22nd, but the others all go through the end of the year.

Hey, free is free, right?  And 10 bucks is 10 bucks.  I’m just saying.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Speaking of the public market, I picked up a wreath this weekend.  I love fresh trees and wreaths – they just seem more, I don’t know, real.

That wreath – well, that’s going to be there until spring.  A couple of years ago, we actually had a bird build a nest in our wreath.

I should probably put a seasonal bow on it or something, huh?

Photobucket

Photobucket

Speaking of seasonal.

After I started a batch of oatmeal, then I remembered that we were out of milk.

Peeps came to the rescue.  He suggested that we use eggnog instead of milk on our oatmeal.

I want to go on record as saying that that is SO WRONG.

And off the record, I’m just going to say . . . it was not bad.  Not bad at all.

Photobucket

Photobucket

So, you may (or may not) remember that I spent, essentially, all of Thanksgiving weekend painting.

Then, about 5 minutes after Thanksgiving, our old doorbell just gave up.  It was old and busted, and, well, we just needed a new doorbell.

Do you know that new doorbells are smaller than the old ones?

Yeah, after all that painting, I still end up with a big old unpainted blob in my front entry area.

I am not thrilled either.  But I’m just plain tired of painting for a while.

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  Wow, the holidays are just sneaking up on us, aren’t they?  Saturday is Christmas. . . .and Surly Boy will be spending the holiday at home with us this year – possibly the start of a new tradition; we shall see. Btu until then, we still have to eat, no?

Monday – Last spring, Peeps smoked a couple of extra pork chops and stuck them in the freezer.  What would be better with smoked pork chops than collard greens and rice?

Tuesday – We’ve got some tilapia that we like to bake with Old Bay seasoning, lemon pepper, and butter.  Since the oven’s on anyway, we can roast a couple of sweet potatoes and toss some salad – we haven’t done the fish thing in ages!

Wednesday – I put together a soup with some leftover butternut squash, some breakfast sausage and some random spices around the kitchen.  I’ll just let you think about that – squash, sausage, and some spices, all in a soup.  It’ll be pretty darned good.

Thursday – We get so tired towards the end of the week – so Peeps put together a sauce with some sausage from the freezer and the chunky veggie sauce I made last summer.  We’ll toss that with half a pound or so of pasta, some cheese, and YUM! It’ll be fantastic.

Friday – Although Friday is usually pizza night, it’s Christmas Eve, and we’ll be enjoying dinner, along with the Boy and his friend, at Mario’s Christmas Eve buffet; our local Italian-American restaurant offers a gorgeous-looking dinner – which will offer an opportunity for us to just get out and enjoy a holiday dinner – with someone else doing the work.

As to the weekend, well Saturday is Christmas day, and we’ve got a rib roast thawing, and Sunday will be the new Friday, that is to say, pizza night!

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. sjbraun - December 20, 2010

Merry Christmas! To you and the whole family!
Thanks for the Coinstar reminder – I have a big container of coins that I *must* remember to turn in this week.
ARGHH on the doorbell/paint situation – wouldn’t you know??!

And Merry Christmas to you, too! It looks like there are some restrictions on the “free” Amazon code that weren’t there last year. 😦

And you know, maybe I’ll just wrap garland around the doorbell thingy and leave it at that for now. 😆

2. Rona - December 20, 2010

We have Coinstars too. We usually take the change from Piggy Bank a few times a year. Then use the money for a nice lunch or dinner out for the family.
Have a terrific Christmas!
Please stop by and enter my $30 IHOP gift card giveaway.

Hi, Rona – it’s good to see you! Merry Christmas to you and your family, too!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

