jump to navigation

I Hate The Holidays December 21, 2010

Posted by Toy Lady in Holidays Countdown, random stuff.
trackback

There, I said it.

Now before you get all worked up, I want you to go back and realize that I did not say I hate Christmas.

I love Christmas.

Christmas is a celebration – a celebration of the holiest of nights.

It’s The Holidays that I object to.

THE HOLIDAYS.

Starting the day after Halloween, and extending into the New Year – The Holidays.

It’s the pressure – the need to please everyone, to create the perfect meal, to buy the perfect gift, to be the perfect family.

The obligations – buying gifts for people you barely know, people you barely even like, being compelled to spend your precious time where you don’t want to be – and where, at any other time of the year, you’re tolerated, at best.

The orgy of spent wrapping paper, the tallying of gifts and dollars spent, the children hopped up on sugar and greed highs – that’s not what Christmas is supposed to be.

Shouldn’t we be doing better than that?

Shouldn’t we remember that Christmas is – is supposed to be – a celebration of a gift that was given to us?

No matter if you don’t buy into “that religion stuff” – Christmas is still a time of giving, isn’t it?  A time of sharing?

Enjoy your holiday season, and take time to have some fun with the people who mean the most to you.  We’ll be back after The Holidays (or next week).

Comments

1. mazco34 - December 21, 2010

Enjoy your time off.
And BTW, you’ve given me the perfect gift with “Dark Side.” It’s a perfect fit, I like the pattern, and I don’t have to return it!

Merry – Happy – Whatever!

Thanks, Maz. That’ll just be my little gift to the world, then, huh? You enjoy your festive season, too. 🙂

2. Anne - December 21, 2010

I’m right there with you, although this year is pretty painless. Dad broke his hip in November, and just returned from rehab last Friday. It’s been a busy month, and .. oh .. Christmas .. is that coming up? I’ve done virtually nothing. My decorations consist of displaying the cards we’ve received in the mail. I’ve purchased four gifts, that’ll be it. No cooking except for contributing to the two meals on Christmas day. And you know what? I’m fine with it. And so is everyone else. No competition, everyone is tight on money, we’re just going to be together and that’ll be enough. Easy peasy.

Enjoy your time off!

3. Lael Hazan @educatedpalate - December 22, 2010

Fun Post! This year the “Christmas” music started before Halloween! I couldn’t believe it.

4. Karen - December 25, 2010

You are not alone in your disdain of the holidays. The only one I really like is Thanksgiving and I didn’t get to celebrate that this year. I’m all about the food.

Stay warm (if you can). Have a wonderful time off!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

