jump to navigation

Odd news January 21, 2011

Posted by Peeps in just general griping, news, random stuff.
trackback

You may recall a couple weeks back that I sort of ranted a little about what should be considered news.  Sorry, journalists being idiots tends to bother me.  I’ll try not to let it happen again.

But ordinary people being idiots is always so much fun.  I make it a point every day to read the Oddly Enough news as provided by Reuters.  It’s such a joy to read about the mishaps and absolute stupidity that people can aspire to.  Particularly when you’ve just been awakened by the alarm clock that’s tuned to the tin-foil-hat show.

The last week or so has been especially rich.  Why, just yesterday we had this story.  I’m willing to bet that the police fought over who got to break the bad news to the burglars.  I would have paid a lot for the chance.

Canada gave us a little bit of fun last week when this story broke.  This sort of nonsense happened more than a decade ago.  But that was in this country.  I guess Canada is still catching up.

On the International scene, we have this little gem.  For what it’s worth, people breaking into places have gotten stuck before and will get stuck again.  But I don’t recall them ever calling the police themselves before.  Poor bastards.

However, my absolute favorite of the past week has been this story.  I just love this.  There was a story a year or so ago about a man out hunting.  His dog stepped on his loaded shotgun.  And one toe of  the dog’s paw pulled the trigger, shooting the hunter.  That one was bad enough.  Although, very funny.  But your prey managing to shoot you?  I’d say it’s time to hang it up.  But that’s just me.  Probably.

I hope you enjoyed the highlights of the last week in the Odd News as much as I did.  It usually manages to bring a smile to my face.

Oh, and for what it’s worth.  And item from the entertainment news for you.  Although, you can think of it as Geek News.  And it’s only a year away.

Comments

1. judy - January 21, 2011

works for me. Loved all the examples.

Peeps - January 24, 2011

Thanks. It was a good week for silliness, apparently.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

