jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 02.07.2011 Edition February 7, 2011

Posted by Toy Lady in Home, Musings, Shopping With Peeps.
Tags:
trackback

It’s sure been a quiet week around here.  We had a “winter storm” scare last week – just about everyone in the country, it seemed, was buried under ice or snow or ice and snow.  But fortunately (or not) the storm missed our little corner of the world, resulting in no snow day for us!

Photobucket

We did, however, get a little closer to breakfast pizza perfection – The Boy was not home for pizza night, and, well, you snooze, you lose, you know?

Actually, we did not know he wasn’t going to be home, so Peeps went ahead and made the full batch of pizza dough on Tuesday, only to find out Thursday that The Boy was going away for the weekend.

Since we had that extra crust, well, why not enjoy it for breakfast?

And I’ll tell you, pre-cooking the eggs worked quite well after all.

Photobucket

PhotobucketI finally bit the bullet and decided to learn how to knit.  I happened to be at my bank’s website, which has a “marketplace” sort of page, and there was an ad for “beginning sewing, crochet, and knitting lessons.”

Now I can sew, crochet, cross-stitch, quilt – pretty much anything but knit.  (Or tat. I don’t know how to tat.)  Mostly, it’s because I miss having some hand-work to do in the evenings.  And it’s always good to learn new things (and try to be accomplished at them!).  And also, I want to learn how to knit socks.

So I sent an email to Elaine, we made arrangements to meet, and, well, here I am, knitting away!

We all know about kitties and yarn, yes.  What I didn’t count on was the Big Lug‘s trying to stuff the entire skein of yarn into his mouth!

Photobucket

Photobucket

How about a curious thing I noticed this morning while Shopping With Peeps?

We were in the beer aisle and we noticed the display of Magic Hat brews.  The packaging is kind of hard to miss, huh?

Anyway, I’m used to seeing various “Oktoberfest” and other seasonal beers in the fall, but I’ve never really thought about a “scrumptious spring lager” – especially in February!  I mean, that’s kind of a little, um, eager, wouldn’t you say?  Maybe they heard about the woodchuck this week?

Photobucket

Photobucket

Believe it or not, I’m still working on my 101 Things – or at least I haven’t abandoned it!  With regard to #55 (learn a new word for every day of the week letter of the alphabet 🙄 ), I’m not quite sure how to blog about “learning new words,”  and I can’t really photographically document it, so I’ll just, well, compile my words as they’re acquired, more specifically, one or two a week.

So the word for this week is Austral. Actually, with the initial capital letter, it’s an abbreviation for “Australian” (duh) but without – austral – it simply means “southern.”  Huh.

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  We’ve got another snowy week, but nothing ridiculous – the temperatures should be right around freezing which, while not exactly balmy, is at least reasonable.

Monday –  Digging through the Recipe Archives, I found a recipe I printed back in 2007 for Chicken Dijon – it calls for boneless, skinless chicken breast, but we’ll sub in thighs and just cook it a bit longer.  A sauteed chicken with a sour cream-Dijon sauce, served over rice, with a side of sauteed greens.  That’ll be good.

Tuesday – We’ve still got several packages of corn ravioli in the freezer that should get eaten sooner rather than later.  We’re probably going to do some kind of honey-cream sauce, and, of course, a tossed salad and fresh bread.

Wednesday – It’s swim class, which means soup night.  I’ve been in the mood for a black bean soup for a while, so that’s what we’re going to have.

Thursday – I was reading one of my favorite blogs the other day, and I read about tacos using brisket.  Which got me to thinking – we have some smoked brisket in the freezer – what if we chop that up, reheat it with some sauteed onions, garlic, poblanos, and beef stock, then have tacos?  That could work, right?

Friday – It’s pizza night!  We love our pizza night, and the dog loves his Kong toy.  Plus, he gets the crusts throughout the week, so it’s definitely a win-win – everyone is happy, which is what matters, right?

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. Pary Moppins - February 7, 2011

I am on a quest this year to learn all sorts of random potentially useful skills (like making soap and quilting) so knitting seemed to fit in nicely with that in mind. You have a leg up on me though as I am not the least bit crafty and it is Engineer that has to sew buttons on around here. I really didn’t know if I would like it but I am actually loving it; every chance I get another line gets added. Your knitting look beautiful and good luck on making socks!

Oy, I hate sewing buttons! I’m enjoying knitting – I love having something to work on while I’m just sitting there doing something else. Years ago, I quilted an entire lap quilt during Little League season. . . 😀

2. judy - February 7, 2011

Great stuff today! Be glad your weather was manageable. The menu for the week sounds very good. KNIT – way to go girl. Did you buy any of the beer? 🙂 Have a good week.

Thanks, Jude – you too! And no, we didn’t buy any of that spring beer – that’s just weird! We do, however, have a couple of Groupons for Beers of the World that we’re looking forward to using! 😆

3. bikinfool - February 7, 2011

It’s never too early to think about spring! I can wait for the Easter candy though.

Your taco idea for Thursday sounds pretty good. You’ve inspired an idea for an alternate use for pulled pork!

Excellent – thanks! Also – I’ve used pulled turkey in soup – some sauced turkey, pinto beans, collards (or kale), and stock. . . I’m thinking of trying something similar with that package of pulled pork that I’m pretty sure is still lurking in the freezer.

4. sjbraun - February 8, 2011

Very interesting – as always! good for you learning to knit. That looks like a neat pattern – knit purl or whatever it is! As a child, I did actually learn to tat. I remember having a terrible time getting the tension right with the thread over my finger.
Good for you as well with the new words – as a child I used to read with a dictionary beside me to look up unfamiliar words. I wish I still had that discipline!

That’s actually just practice – I did learn knit and purl – so I figured, why not mix it up and make something interesting? It’s going to take me half of forever, but I hope to have a nice scarf. . . probably by May! 🙄


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

