jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 02.14.2011 Edition February 14, 2011

Posted by Toy Lady in random stuff.
trackback

PhotobucketI guess the first order of business is “happy Valentine’s Day.”  So, yeah.

Anyway.  The Boy (who’s not currently living at home, for those of you playing along) was here for the weekend with The Girl and I convinced them that going to the public market would be FUN! and EXCITING! so they came with me this week.

Photobucket

I did fairly well – found some leeks (little and sad though they may be) and some nice broccoli and apples.

I was in the mood for apples this week.

The kids picked up some pomegranates, which is cool.  Except that when they left, they forgot them.

Any thoughts on what to do with four pomegranates in the fridge?

Photobucket

Photobucket

Speaking of our kids.

The puppy is still enjoying his swim class.  I’m of two minds about it.  I mean, on the one hand, it’s the best thing in the world for him – that non-weight-bearing exercise is just what he needs to help keep his joints healthy and strong, not to mention the mental stimulation of tracking that ball in the current.

And there’s no doubt he enjoys it.  He enjoys it so much that he’s insufferably jerky all the way to the swim facility.  Jumping and whining and yipping like a little baby puppy.

Photobucket

But it’s worth it – he so enjoys it!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Don’t forget this week is the Third Thursday of the month!  Please feel free to join us for this month’s Third Thursday event – just “borrow” a recipe (or any other technique) from someone else’s blog and tell us about it!

Complete details are here, and remember, the more the merrier!

Photobucket

Photobucket

We made a batch of burritos this weekend, and you know what?

A couple of extra tortillas, a bit of leftover burrito filling, and some cheese, and you’ve got yourself the makings of a darned fine quesadilla right there.

Who’da thunk?

Photobucket

Photobucket

I’m still working on my 101 Things – and with regard to #55, the word for this week is. . . Beagling. Really. Learned it while watching Animal Planet. (Who says TV turns your brain to mush?) Yup. And it turns out “beagling” means pretty much what you’d expect it to mean – rabbit hunting with a pack of beagles.  Only you get to dress funny.  And as an aside – can you imagine the din of a pack of beagles?   Good heavens.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Okay, so speaking of my 101 Things list – how about one that almost slipped past me?  What with all the cold weather and snow we’ve been (ahem) enjoying lately, it’s only natural to want to warm up with a nice mug of hot chocolate.  When I used Alanna’s recipe, Peeps reminded me  “hey, isn’t hot chocolate on your list?”   I’m just going to say – I don’t know why I haven’t been doing this for years – it’s so easy and so tasty!  Because we use fairly large coffee mugs, we dump 5 Tablespoons of the powdered mix into  a mug, fill it 2/3 full with boiling (not hot – boiling!) water, add 1/2 tsp. vanilla, then top off with milk (or half and half, if no one’s looking) and top with marshmallows or whipped cream.

Swiss Miss, eat your heart out!

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.   It’s still February, which means it’s still winter.  Ho hum.

Though the forecast does call for 52 by the end of the week.  I’m not sure I’m buying it, but we shall see.

Monday – Our local supermarket had whole chickens on sale, so how could we pass that up.  We’re going to enjoy a roast chicken, some pan-roasted “paprika potatoes” from the current Cook’s Country magazine and a fresh salad.  We’ll do something fun with the leftover chicken, fear not!

Tuesday – We’ve got some orphaned pork chops in the freezer that need to be used, so I’m going to try caramel apple pork chops, only they’re getting baked in the oven.  Along with the (probably sweet) pork chops, we’ll saute (or steam) some collards, and maybe a baked potato.

Wednesday – We don’t have  swim class this week – but it’s still soup night.  This time, we’ve kind of made it up – we had a lot of the super-flavorful braising liquid left over from corned beef (which I stuck in the freezer), and I used that, with some onions, carrots, potatoes, and, of course, a bit of cabbage, with pinto beans standing in for the meat.  I’m thinking some sort of rye bread (or rye croutons), with it will be fantastic.

Thursday – We picked up some frozen salmon with bearnaise sause on sale a while back, so I guess now is the time to try it, along with some brown rice and broccoli.  I’m not sure what I think of frozen bearnaise, or of bearnaise with salmon, but I guess we’ll see.

Friday – Woo hoo, it’s pizza night!  What else is there to say?  For me, a good pizza is all about the crust – and we’ve got that.  I like a bit of olive oil, some herbs, and a reasonable amount of cheese – but the crust is always the best part.

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. sjbraun - February 14, 2011

Are you still liking “the girl?” I hope so! I wish I could help on the pomegranates, but …
I am happy your dog is liking swim classes still!
Have a great day, and thanks for educating me on “beagling.” 🙂

Yeah, we do still like The Girl – which is quite nice. Let’s just hope all works out as it should. . .

2. judy - February 14, 2011

Nice variety of stuff today! Food should be fun. I sure hope the weather warms up for you people. We had a very nice weekend weather wise here. I also like your new playing with words. 🙂

Thanks, Jude. It should be interesting, anyway. 😀 I’m glad you’re getting some nice weather – winter is SO getting old, isn’t it? Oh, and I’m glad you’re enjoying the words – two down, 24 to go. . .

3. anne - February 14, 2011

I just saw a commercial for pomwonderful.com, It claims that Aphrodite declared pomegranate to be an aphrodisiac. You might want to … ahem … hold on to those fruits. 🙂

By all means, don’t give them back to the kids!!!!!

LOL, Anne!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

