jump to navigation

Right ho! February 25, 2011

Posted by Peeps in Home, random stuff, What we're reading.
trackback

It’s been a while since I’ve gotten to the library.  So, I’ve been having to live on what’s in the house for reading material.  That’s not usually a problem.  As a general rule, when I buy books, it’s because I plan to read them over and over again.

Lately, I’ve been going through my very small collection of stories by P.G. Wodehouse.  Never heard of him?  That’s a shame.  He was one of the funniest authors to ever set pen to paper.

My mother gave me a Wodehouse to read for the first time I think somewhere around the age of nine.  I then spent that summer reading every book of his I could get my hands on.  The library at home had a large selection of Wodehouse available, as did the library where my grandmother lived.

It’s not surprising, really.  He wrote well over one hundred books before he died.  Finding a good author is sometimes difficult.  Finding a prolific, good author is like winning the lottery.

He’s most famous for his character Jeeves, manservant to Bertie Wooster.  Jeeves is a marvel, and is forever getting his young, not terribly bright master out of all sorts of trouble.  Several adaptations of Wodehouse’s work have been done over the years, mostly by the BBC.  From the several that I’ve seen, I would judge “Jeeves and Wooster” from the early 90s to be far away the best.  Here, have a short example:

If you like British humor, I strongly urge that you pop round to your local bookseller and ask him to start uncrating the Wodehouse. You’ll be very glad you did.

Comments

1. Mazco34 - February 25, 2011

I totally agree with Peeps on this one. Wodehouse is a master of humor and a pleasure to read. If you want to experiment with Wodehouse, try a collection of his short stories. That will really get you going!

Peeps - February 25, 2011

Just be prepared to get hooked.

2. anne - February 25, 2011

I just checked my library, and they have quite a few. I’ll be browsing the collection soon!

Peeps - February 28, 2011

You’re very lucky. I think you’ll be very happy.

3. sjbraun - February 26, 2011

Finding a prolific, good author is like winning the lottery – great line!

Peeps - February 28, 2011

Thank you. I was having a good day.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

