jump to navigation

Do You Mind? March 2, 2011

Posted by Toy Lady in just general griping, mirth & woe, random stuff.
trackback

Do you mind if I take a few minutes to gripe a bit?

It’s been, not exactly a BAD day, really.

Just a BLAH day, you know?

I’ve been working on my 101 Thing List – specifically #50.  I’ve been “listening to” rather than “reading” the novels on our morning walks; I made the executive decision that that is Close Enough.  But I just want to go on record right now as saying that my opinion of “all time best” differs more than slightly from that of the people at Time. But seriously – sometimes, an “all time best” novel is NOT the way to start your day.  I’m just saying.

So I subjected myself to that morning joy for a mile or so, then we came back and did our usual morning things.

I went upstairs and got dressed for work, and I listened to the Medical Expert on the radio.  He was talking about the effect a Positive Attitude has on one’s health.

I know, all right?  Blood pressure, depression, heck, a positive attitude probably cures male pattern baldness.

So just try, for one day, to keep your attitude positive and see how it affects how you feel.

Um, yeah.

Then I got out on the road and headed for work.

You know, one would think the idiots would get up later, you know?  I mean. . . do they really have to be all out on my highways at 6:30?

Positive attitude.  Boy, it’s a good thing the moron drivers are out of the way early – before the REAL traffic starts, huh?  Yeah.

And then I got to work, and in the interest of Good Health, I always park at the far end of the parking lot and take the stairs.  This morning I tripped UP the stairs.

Positive attitude, darn it.

Boy, it’s a good thing that man from down the hall walking up the stairs behind me didn’t have to catch me.   How awkward would that have been?

And then it was the regular stuff – Mon Capitán was not in the office, so most all of our communication was via email, which, I’ve gotta admit, is kind of a mixed blessing.  I mean, sure, it’s great not having the boss around (isn’t it always?), but answer me, darnit!

And then I’m finally ready to wrap it up for the day, fond thoughts of hitting the pottery shop again in my mind, when I get a phone call from a client – he still doesn’t have a document that he needs to be signed, and could I please send it as soon as possible so the person who needs to sign it can, well, sign it?

*sigh*

Emails to the law firm that was supposed to send the document (and, honestly, if it were my document, I’d have sent it a week and a half ago), and answer me, darnit!

Finally, half an hour later, I have the document to forward for a signature.

And it’s got the wrong person’s name.

And THAT is the kind of day this has been.

On the bright side, I did figure out that whole knitting-heel-turning thing  yesterday (I’m pretty sure), so what I really want to do is knit my sock.

Comments

1. Cristina - March 2, 2011

Oh, I’m sorry. That sounds like a rotten day.

Which book are you listening to? I tried audio books, but my mind tends to drift off, and I found it rather distracting as opposed to actually reading the book myself.

Mostly, I listen while I’m walking the dog – I can’t listen to a book while I’m actually thinking about anything else. 🙂 If I’m doing housework or something, I’ll just put on music, but walks are pretty much either books or podcasts.

It is kind of hard sometimes, though – I’ll be walking along “la, la< la" and realize that I have no idea what's been happening for the past 15 minutes, and I can't rewind it. Of course, I do that with books too, when I read at night. . . . but it's a little easier to turn back a few pages – the next evening! 🙂

2. sjbraun - March 2, 2011

Ha! I can relate. Sometimes I feel like all I do (well, on my blog at least) is rant. But ya know, then I thought: how interesting would it be to just read about all the NICE things that happen each day? boring. So, although I really hope your day improves, at least you did entertain us 🙂

Exactly! Really, all happy all the time is kind of . . . dull sometimes, isn’t it? And I’ve happy to amuse you. 🙂

3. anne - March 2, 2011

It was one of those days! I fell off of my 4′ step ladder. I was only a couple of steps up, but I guess I missed the last step. I bounced off the kitchen counter, the ladder hit the floor, the vacuum cleaner in my hand hit the floor, I hit the floor, the mostly empty paint can hit the floor.

I survived, as did the floor. And then I quit for the day. No need to tempt fate.

Zoinks! I hope you retired for the day with a nice glass of wine, or at least a box of chocolates! 😉


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

