jump to navigation

Still hot rodding March 4, 2011

Posted by Peeps in Home, Information, Musings, random stuff.
trackback

I was driving home from work last Saturday, and I had the radio on.

Now, I’m not terribly fond of radio here.  I spent far too many years listening to New York City radio, particularly WNEW-FM, to be satisfied with what’s offered here.  Mostly, I listen to WFXF-FM.  They have a morning show that I try to avoid, but afternoons and weekends aren’t too bad.  But there’s an interesting show they have on Saturdays that I usually manage to catch the last few minutes of.

“The Billy D’Ettorre and Brother Wease Music Show” is just finishing up when I get out of work on Saturdays.  Wease is a local celebrity.  He does the morning show on the station and it reminds me a lot of Howard Stern.  Which is not a good thing to me at all.  But, and this is key, while I try to avoid listening to Wease, he does know a lot about music.  And apparently Billy learned everything he knows from listening to Wease.

But Billy and Wease’s show on Saturday is all about stuff you normally wouldn’t hear on the radio.  Cover versions of songs, songs by artist you’ve never heard of, obscure tracks by well known artists, stuff my boss likes, all kinds of things.

So, there I was in the car and Hot Rod Lincoln comes on.  No?  1971?  Commander Cody and his Lost Planet Airmen?  You’d know it if you heard it.  At least, you should.  Anyway, a live version of Hot Rod Lincoln starts playing, and I knew at once I’d never heard it before.

It started off the same, but the singer started mentioning all the people that pulled over to let him by.  Famous music stars.  And he was playing like them.  All of them.  It was the most amazing thing I’d ever heard.

As soon as I got home, I started searching Amazon for live Commander Cody albums, but couldn’t find the right one.  So, in desperation, I emailed Billy D’Ettorre at the radio station, asking what album I could find the song on.

And come Monday, I happened to notice that I had a reply in my inbox.  With a copy of the song as an attachment.  I couldn’t believe it.

As it turns out, it was done by Bill Kirchen, who used to play lead guitar for Commander Cody.  And is now my newest guitar hero.

For those of you who might care, here’s a video of the important part, Mr. Krichen showing off his skills.  I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

Comments

1. mazco34 - March 4, 2011

Very, very cool, but at 6:30 it was getting a bit long.
And at the end, I could only think of the Jim Steinman bit, “Stop it, boy! That’s no way to treat an expensive musical instrument!”

Peeps - March 4, 2011

It’s a tad long, yeah. But it’s way fun.

2. kayatthekeyboard - March 4, 2011

I remember Hot Rod Lincoln, and I remember Commander Cody, but I had not put the two together. Go figger. Cool cover version, though.

Peeps - March 4, 2011

I’m very glad you liked it. I was so happy I finally found out about it.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

