jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 03.07.2011 Edition March 7, 2011

Posted by Toy Lady in Musings, random stuff, Shopping With Peeps.
Tags:
trackback

Photobucket

I’ve mentioned “sibling rivalry” we’re enjoying between the cat and the dog, right?

And how, when he finds her feathery kitty toys, he slobbers them up so they’re essentially un-playable to her?

Yeah, I guess she likes to get her revenge – by rubbing her kitty belly all over his dog bed.

*sigh*

Kids.

Photobucket

Photobucket

My parents stopped by the other evening on their way home from Buffalo, where their flight had landed after a trip to Mexico.

While there, they toured a tequila farm (factory?) and picked up a pistol-shaped bottle of tequila for Peeps.

He’s looking forward to doing

(wait for it!)

shots.

HA!

Photobucket

Now, see, THIS is why I’ve resisted the whole Facebook thing for so long!

Photobucket Photobucket

I have been a knitting fool lately!

I’ve officially finished a pair of socks – I used a skein of basic acrylic yarn that was knocking around, and, yes, they are. . . green.

I am looking forward to mastering this whole sock-knitting thing – then I’ll invest in some nice yarns and make some nice socks.  I can hardly wait!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Although we’re in upstate New York, about as far north of the Mason-Dixon as one can get, we like to observe Mardi Gras, at least as much as we can.

We picked up a King Cake this week, and I couldn’t help noticing that the “baby” that’s usually baked into the cake was, well, it was taped to the side of the box.

Boy, I guess they really are worried about that whole choking hazard thing, aren’t they?

Photobucket

Photobucket

And how’s this for an installment of Shopping With Peeps?

We needed to pick up some cheese slices, and we noticed that it was, well, divided.

There was the White American cheese.  And then there was the colored stuff.

Really?  Racist cheese now?

Photobucket
Photobucket

We’ve STILL been working on getting the cat and the dog to co-exist.

And let me tell you, it’s Not Easy.

Though it’s getting better – bit by bit.  I’ve been able to get them to look at each other – or more accurately, to get her (the cat) to look at him (the dog) and to get him (the dog) to ignore her (the cat).

Confused?  Imagine my mornings with the two of them.  Yeah.

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  Although it’s March, the several inches of new snow in my front yard remind me that it’s still winter.  Which is, in a way, fine – we do love our cold-weather comfort foods around here!

Monday – We picked up a pork shoulder, and we’re going to slow-roast that along with some carrots, and we’ll enjoy some mashed white beans.  Of course, there will be plenty of leftovers, so we can look forward to being creative with that, too, in the coming weeks.

Tuesday – Fat Tuesday – woo!  Although we’re no where near New Orleans (in fact, at this writing, there’s about 8 inches of fresh snow on the ground!), we love to dig out our beads and do a little celebrating!   This year, we’ll start with New Orleans Barbecue Shrimp, a recipe from an old Cook’s Country magazine, along with some roasted sweet potatoes and corn.

Wednesday – It’s swim class this Wednesday, and,while that usually means soup night, we’re trying a crockpot recipe for sloppy lentils – think of sloppy joes, only a meatless version – we’re using lentils in place of meat.  Huh.  We’ll serve a crisp salad on the side – it’ll be delicious, really!

Thursday – We were looking for something a little lighter after the roast pork and the shrimp this week, so we’re going to go with chicken piccata from this month’s Cooking Light.  We have, more often than not, been pleasantly surprised by how good the recipes are in this magazine, and we’re very much looking forward to another winner!

Friday – And it’s another pizza night – it’s just a relief to have one night a week that we don’t have to think about at all – all we need to do is raid the refrigerator (if we feel like it) and decide what to use as toppings.  Easy dinner, for sure!

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. Cristina - March 7, 2011

Since you talked about so many things in this post, here’s my response, bullet style:

* Your kitty is awesome!
* So are the green socks.
* Thanks to you I now watch Cook’s Country.
* Those sloppy lentils sound delicious.

Why, thank you. . . and don’t you LOVE Cook’s Country? And did you know that Christopher Kimball plays in a band? (sans bowtie) He’s partial to . . . The Grateful Dead. 😯

2. mazco34 - March 7, 2011

Chicken Piccata is one of my favorite dishes. Can’t wait to hear how yours turned out. Just curious, what’s going to be your side-dish? I prefer yellow rice, but C prefers egg noodles.

BTW – make enough for leftovers – piccata is even better the next day!

We’ll probably do rice with it – maybe even brown rice, if I can manage it. 😉 We haven’t had chicken piccata in AGES.

3. judy - March 7, 2011

LOVE your socks! They look warm. The food sounds great and you know I love pics of your kids, especially the fluffy one. I can’t believe you have that much more snow. It was 50 when I got up today! Enjoy your eating week people (and kids).

Thanks, Judy. And how do you like the way they’re (almost) making nice there?

And your good weather – hopefully it’ll be heading east soon. Though we can do without any more flood warnings. 🙄

4. Pary Moppins - March 7, 2011

Gorgeous and 60F here right now but was really cold this morning while walking the kiddo to school. That’s an abomination to tape the baby onto the side of the box. LOVE THE SOCKS! I am trying to make a scarf right now. So far so good. Menu sounds yummy and as for the cheese…hahahahahahaha 🙂

I’ve gotta tell you, the first thing I thought of when I saw the scotch taped baby was was duct-taping kids to the wall! 😆

And honestly, if it was 60 degrees here, the LAST thing I’d worry about is a scarf! 😉

5. Cristina - March 7, 2011

I DO love it. 🙂 I just recently started watching it and America’s Test Kitchen. I had a really good laugh the other day when they revealed that the audience preferred the Swiss Miss hot chocolate. 😉 He gave them such a dirty look, as if to say, “you rubes, you have no idea what’s good, do you?” I didn’t know he was in a band. His Wiki page is rather sparse.

I found Christopher Kimball’s blog a while back – – there’s even some behind-the-scenes stuff and bloopers from the shows that’s fun. 🙂

6. savingsinseason - March 7, 2011

Your socks are out of control…congrats on finishing a project! Very intrigued by the sloppy lentils. I’m warming up to lentils, especially since they cook so fast as dried legumes go. May have to try those.

Thanks – I very much enjoyed knitting those socks!

I had never really had lentils before a few year ago – and I’m really loving them, too! We’ve experimented with several different types of lentils and have been happy with all of them.

7. anne - March 7, 2011

Wow, those socks are real socks!! Like, they’re the right shape and everything! Color me (greenly)impressed.

Mmmmm, lentil sloppy joes. I make them regularly, I’ll have to try this recipe with the chipotle. For the record, they freeze nicely, if you happen to have leftovers. Great for a quick dinner. Just remember, I believe it’s the law that you have ripple potato chips with them. Pickles are optional. 🙂

I know – I was all like “look, look a heel!” 😆

And I’m glad to know the lentil stuff will freeze well – in order to keep leftovers from taking over the fridge, we’ve been freezing half-batches of soup for weekends. This can certainly go in the soup stash, huh?


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

