jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 03.14.2011 Edition March 14, 2011

Posted by Toy Lady in Musings, Shopping With Peeps.
Tags:
trackback

OK, consider this my objection to time change week – I hate it.  I will spend the bulk of next week tired and cranky.  Just be warned.

Photobucket

I went to the public market this weekend and picked up some GREEN vegetables – some lettuce, broccoli and green beans.  I even found a new bakery at the market and got some brioche – it was the only bread they had available at 6:30 when I got there.  Everything else would be out after7:00 – by 7, I’m done on my way home.

Photobucket

Photobucket

I also picked up “croissants” at the market – they were pre-packaged and filled with chocolate creme filling (or vanilla) (yuck).  I suspect this was a “vending machine package” – where else would you find a single-serving packaged croissant?

So here’s my take – it’s kind of flaky in a plastic sort of way, and I’d say it was worth the 50 cents I paid for it, but certainly no more than that.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Don’t forget this week is the Third Thursday of the month!  Please feel free to join us for this month’s Third Thursday event – I’ve decided to change the format for Third Thursdays – rather than limit the challenge to other people’s blog, I’d rather see us find something challenging.  Learn something new.  Step outside your comfort zone for a day.

Updated, new-and-improved details are here, and remember, the more the merrier!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Who is up for another gripping installment of Shopping With Peeps?

We were in the vinegar aisle and happened across this “VINTAGE Cooking Wine.”

Um.  Vintage?

Exactly what vintage do you suppose this cooking wine actually is?

Last week?

Photobucket

Photobucket

This whole sock-knitting thing?

It’s gonna kill me.  I found a sale on “sock yarn” and bought enough yarn for at least 3 pairs of socks – and that’s being generous, since I’m not exactly sure how much yarn I’m going to need.  And as if that’s not bad enough, I ordered some solid-colored yard online.  Plus others.  That’ll be delivered Tuesday.

I’m lucky if I can turn out a pair of socks in a week – and I just bought yarn for a half-dozen pairs.

I’m in BIG trouble.

Photobucket

Photobucket

I’m still working on my 101 Things – and with regard to #55, the word for this week is. . . E. Edacious – an interesting word, again from Latin for (get this) “to eat” – and it basically means voracious.  Will eat anything.  Starving.  Good word, huh?

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  It’s “late March” – spring is on its way!  And it looks like we may actually (gasp!) fire up the grill one or two nights this week – the time change gives us an extra hour of daylight, and we can grill in 50 degrees!

Monday – Remember how, Thanksgiving weekend, I went meat shopping?  Well, we’re going to pull a couple of strip steaks out of the freezer and grill those.  We’ve also got the potato galette recipe from Cook’s Illustrated to try, along with a salad.  This will be a delightful dinner, if a little fussy!

Tuesday – We’ve got a lot of Korean Beef in the freezer, and Tuesday is looking like the best evening of the week – we’ll grill the short ribs, steam some rice, and stir-fry some green beans.  Oh, yum.

Wednesday – We don’t have swim class this week, but it’s still soup night – this week is bean soup with leftover meat from last week’s pork roast – the pork roast was fabulous, and the the soup is looking to be almost as good.

Thursday – I know I’m probably going to be sorry for this, but after steaks, Korean beef and beans soup, I wanted something lighter, so we’re going to try Leek Pie – by Thursday, the last thing we want to do is fuss over dinner.  But Peeps will make a crust ahead of time, and I’m going to try to cut out of the office a bit early, so we should be able to swing it.

Friday – And yay, it’s pizza night!  I’ll be honest, pizza night is like vacation from menu planning – a little sauce, a little cheese, and there you go.  Mindless eating at its finest.

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. Barb Cooper - March 14, 2011

I was reading right along and then I got to…YARN. YARN. Oh, yummy yarn! There was more? (Why yes, I am easily distracted by fiber, why do you ask?)

Dude, the stuff was on SALE! And then I looked online, and MORE was on sale! And then we took a ride out to an actual YARN SHOP – where I could see and touch such gorgeous stuff. . . I warned Peeps that if I’m not careful, I’ll going to be one of those knitting ladies with Rubbermaid containers full of yarn all over the place. 😯

2. judy - March 14, 2011

Good for you doing a new thing! Looking forward to seeing each new pair! Have a good week in spite of DST.

Thanks, Jude! I’ll certainly try – I’ve got to stop puttering around so much in the mornings – it feels like I’m SO EARLY, until I look at a clock and realize I am SO LATE! 😆

3. mazco34 - March 14, 2011

Hey, be careful with that yarn. I know you need a lot for a pair for Peeps.
But if you keep buying, you might wind up like Peeps’ mother if you get crazy.

Hey, you bite your tongue! A girl’s gotta have a selection, you know. 😉

4. Zoe - March 14, 2011

I’ve never had Korean food and although we are working through a series of eat at home date nights based on different nations, Korean is one that did not make the list. hmmmm.

Oh, that sounds like such fun! I’ve wanted to get organized enough to do something like that, but then, when it’s time to plan meals, I, um, forget. 😳


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

