jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 03. 21.2011 March 21, 2011

Posted by Toy Lady in random stuff.
trackback

I’m going to be honest here.

I’ve not been up to much this past week.  Work stuff is starting to ramp up – I do a lot of work with school districts, and here in New York, the annual school budget vote is coming up, which means everybody needs something from me.  Not that it’s not good to be needed, but it does get tiring.  Fortunately, I’ve got a bit of a break before things start getting too busy, so I’m going to spend a couple of days doing things around the house – you know, like I always spend my “vacations.”

Photobucket

Photobucket
And in other news.

Between laundry days, I’ve gotten into the habit of tossing dirty kitchen towels into the corner of the kitchen – they’re handy to use for wiping up dog slobber (which, surprisingly, gets everywhere when someone has been drinking!), and it’s convenient.

However, it seems that maybe I should be a bit more judicious as to which towels I just toss in the corner, and which ones I take directly to the hamper.  Apparently the towel Peeps used for patting dry potato slices was just too intriguing.

Potato starch?  Um, okay.

Photobucket

I do want to take a second and mention the situation in Japan – is that heartbreaking, or what?  And scary – though from what I understand, the reactors are – or will be  soon-  under control.

And Libya?  Just wow.

But hey, at least our President has things well in hand.

Photobucket

Photobucket

I’m still working on my 101 Things – and with regard to #55, the word for this week is. . .F. Fardel. A pack or a bundle.

The second definition is “a burden” – I guess it’s kind of a “he’s not heavy, he’s my fardel” sort of thing.

Or something like that, anyway.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Boy, that’s a lousy photo, isn’t it?

You know, we do soup (or stew or chili) pretty much every Wednesday evening – and we usually make enough for a couple of meals (and often, a couple of lunches besides).  Rather than re-enjoy those soups right away, we’ve found that it works beautifully for us to freeze a quart of the excess (in a labeled recycled yogurt container!) to be enjoyed on a later Sunday evening.

We currently have about a 5-6 week buffer, meaning that, if we select the oldest container for supper on Sunday, it’s something we had several weeks ago – and it’s great when we check the label and see that “oh, that was so good!”

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  It may be officially “Spring,” but all that means around here is that we can’t count on the weather.  Um, kind of like most of the rest of the year, huh?

Monday – Since I’m going to be home for a couple of days, I’ll actually be working harder than I usually do at work (don’t tell Mon Capitán!) – so I spent the better part of Sunday working on the weeks dinner for the week.  Right now, for Monday, after I probably end up making another batch of burritos, we’ll enjoy baked corn, black bean and cheese empanadas.  I’ll let you know how that turns out.

Tuesday – I subscribe to Cuisine at Home‘s weekly newsletter, and this week, they sent me a recipe for Bold & Spicy Chicken Wings with Cranberry Glaze.  Only I’m going to use chicken tenders instead of wings.  Oh, and I couldn’t find concentrated cranberry juice (do they even still make that?), so I’ll do it with orange.  It’ll still be good, really!  Maybe with some broccoli and some sort of starch.

Wednesday – It’s swim class night – and we’ve got a big pot of chili – it’s March, and the chance to enjoy another batch of slow-cooked chili probably won’t come around again until next fall.  That’ll go in the crockpot before we leave, and by the time we get home, dinner will be ready.

Thursday – I’m back to work Thursday – so at some point before then, I’m going to make a pastrami loaf.  Say what?  Well. . . I’ll be sort of making it up as I go along, but basically, it’s going to be a loaf of homemade rye bread with layers of mustard, Peeps’s homemade pastrami, and Swiss cheese baked inside it.

Friday – Even though I’m only working 2 days this week, I’m pretty sure they’re going to be rough days, so I am more than looking forward to pizza night already!  I’ve got just enough ricotta filling in the freezer for one more pizza night, and the dog will enjoy some cream cheese in his Kong toy – a win-win!

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

