jump to navigation

How to Catch a Husband March 29, 2011

Posted by Toy Lady in baking, Cooking, Food.
Tags: ,
trackback

Many years ago, long before we were married, Peeps lived in New Jersey and would frequently fly up here to Rochester to visit me.

Photobucket

Of course, I’d occasionally drive to Jersey, too – the relationship wasn’t all one-sided!  But honestly, it was much easier for a single guy to fly here than for a single mom to drive there, you know?

And while he was here in town, Peeps liked to stay at the Courtyard – it’s a reasonably nice hotel, not far from the house, and, of course, the pool and hot tub are a treat.

Photobucket

I don’t think he ever took advantage of the “included breakfast,” though.  Not when he could come over and enjoy breakfast at my house!

To this day, he insists that the French toast is what hooked him.  (I like to think there may have been a little more to it than that, but I’ll take what I can get, I guess!)

I’m going to let you in on a little secret – not just good, but great – French toast starts with the bread.  Sure, you can use store-bought sliced bread (I guess), but if you really want to catch yourself a quality husband, you’re going to need to start with a homemade, hearty loaf – I like King Arthur’s version – I’ve been using that recipe for over 20 years, and it still makes the best French toast.

Photobucket

Of course, it also doesn’t hurt to throw a couple of sausages on the breakfast plate, but honestly, this French toast stands alone just fine.

Photobucket

The funny thing is that I don’t have an actual recipe for my French toast – yet it always comes out delicious (if I do say so myself).  Just a few basic points to remember, that’s all.

Start with one egg per person you’re feeding, and maybe an extra if you’re feeling particularly peckish.

Add about an equal volume of milk – more or less – figure a large egg measures about a quarter cup, and go from there.

Photobucket

You’ll want to whisk that together, and whisk in just a pinch of salt (barely), and for 2-3 people, add maybe a tablespoon of sugar, half a teaspoon of cinnamon, a fair grating of nutmeg, and, oh, about a teaspoon of vanilla.

While you’re heating your cooking surface to about 350 degrees (I love my trusty electric griddle – it heats fairly evenly, you don’t have to fiddle with the temperature, and there’s room for eight pieces of toast) – while that’s heating, you’ll want to slice your bread about 1/2 in thick.

You don’t want it so thick that it won’t soak up the eggy goodness, but not so thin it’ll fall apart.  Half an inch is just right.

Photobucket

Dip your first couple of pieces of bread in the bowl, and let them set for about 30 seconds, then turn them over and let them soak another half a minute, then transfer to the buttered heated griddle, dropping the next installment of bread into the eggs.

Continue until the griddle is full, and by that time, you’re ready to flip ’em.  Cook the second side, then serve with real butter (of course) and (and this is important) warm maple syrup.

And that’s the story of how I caught my husband.  How about you?  How’d you catch your husband (or wife or significant other or, well, whomever you’ve caught?)

 

Comments

1. Kia @ A View From Here - March 29, 2011

Awesome story. I snagged my hubby with food too. At the time I was working as a chef and he was buddies with the pub manager. An extra slice of ham with his eggs and remembering to leave off the salad (which he now eats).
The way to a man’s heart is through his stomach so “they” say =)

Oh, good, then it’s not just me! I say, if you’ve got it, use it, right? 😆

2. mazco34 - March 29, 2011

So that’s the story he’s using on you. (wink-wink-nudge-nudge-knowwhatImean-knowwhatImean!)

Why, Maz, what did he tell you? 😉

mazco34 - March 29, 2011

Hey, I’ve traveled for food – to Monterey for Minestrone; to Vermont for a cheese omelet; to Philly for a cheesesteak.
But I never went as often as he went to Rochester. It might have been French, but it wasn’t toast.

Ah, but Maz, you haven’t had my French toast. . .

3. judy - March 29, 2011

YUM! Man or not, that look delicious! I think you are a good catch even without french toast.

Aw, Judy, you’re too kind. 😀

4. sjbraun - March 29, 2011

How did I know that food must have brought you together? What a neat story!

Aw, thanks.

5. anne - March 29, 2011

No food here. We met in college, when he was a mere babe of a freshman and I was the older woman (sophomore). That was in 1982, and we’ll celebrate 24 years of wedded bliss next Monday.

At this point, it’s about food. 😉 I should plan a decent dinner, I guess.

Well, congratulations, Anne! 😀

6. kayatthekeyboard - March 29, 2011

Never caught anything worth keeping. Did wind up in Arkansas for 30-plus years because of a pitcher of beer, though.

Kay, that must have been some beer, huh? 😉


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

