jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 04.04.2011 April 4, 2011

Posted by Toy Lady in random stuff.
trackback

I’ve been going through the photos from this week (which is usually how I come up with “Monday Musings”), and boy, has it been a slow week!  Peeps has been extra-busy at work, and me, well, between recovering from my vacation and trying to knit a pair of honest-to-goodness, wear-them-out-in-public socks, let’s just say we lead EXCITING and ADVENTURE-FILLED lives at the moment, and leave it at that, OK?

Photobucket

Photobucket

Peeps was working on pizza crust Friday evening, with his usual “helper” right there, ready to clean up any stray bits of cheese or anything.

Suddenly, and I have no idea how it happened, he knocked over the bowl of flour that he keeps handy for shaping the dough, and . . .

You know what’s sad?  When the dog’s entire tongue is coated in flour and water Jarly slobber paste.  Funny, yes, but sad all the same.

Photobucket

Photobucket

I’m still working on my 101 Things – and with regard to #55, the word for this week is. . .H. Hagiarchy. That would be a government run by holy persons, or a place thus governed. 

Indeed.  I wonder what that would be like.

Photobucket

Photobucket

It’s not all about the dog, though.  Oh no!

I’ve still been hard at work with the pet desensitization.  I like to call it Project Hater-Ade.

It’s simple enough.  The kitty gets a supply of treats, which she has to take directly, from my hand.

Meanwhile, the dog gets a supply of kibble (held out from his dinner), which he gets, one bit at a time, every time he looks AWAY from the kitty and AT me.

I’ve got her voluntarily coming up the step, almost into the kitchen,with him right there NOT LOOKING AT HER (he’s looking at the kibble in my hand).

Just give me another three years, and who knows where they’ll be?

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  Boy, that was quick, huh?  It’s still a little chilly in these parts, though I have put away my boots and dug out my sneakers – that means Spring is definitely in the air, right?

Monday – We’re going to start the week with those black bean cakes we did a while ago – it’s a nice, meatless meal that should be quite nice with some grilled corn (stashed in the freezer last summer) and maybe a nice tossed salad.  What could scream “Come on spring!” better?  (note:  If you try this recipe, and you should, use a more “medium” than “large” sweet potato.  Unless you feel like making sweet potato muffins.)

Tuesday – Again, a light and tasty dinner – a chile lime mahi-mahi (based on this recipe) – we’ve done this a couple of times with tilapia, and it’s very good.  Served with rice and some steamed broccoli, it’ll be delicious.

Wednesday –  And it’s swim class night – the poor dog gets SO EXCITED on swim night!  We’re experimenting with out soup this week – we found a last package of pulled pork in the freezer, so, rather than doing the same-old same-old, we combined that with some more black beans (we cooked a LOT of black beans!), rummaged around in the cupboards and came up with a soup that (I hope) will have kind of a Cuban sort of vibe going on. . .

Thursday – I was thinking of roasting a turkey, but then I thought, “On a THURSDAY?  Who am I kidding?”  We hate doing any kind of strenuous cooking on Thursday, so we’re going to simply roast a chicken.  Maybe some baby potatoes (if we have any, mashed or baked if not) and some veggie out of the freezer.  Or a salad.  Livin’ on the edge, that’s what we do.

Friday – Kong night – I mean pizza night!  Last week, I very much enjoyed spinach and feta – a classic combination, sure, but there’s a reason for that!  Don’t know what we’ll do this week, but I’m sure it’ll be just as good.

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. judy - April 4, 2011

A new week! I loved the picture of the “kid’s” get together? You are a very patient person and a good mama. I am sure the “mystery” soup will be delish. Enjoy!

I knew the kitty would get you out of the woodwork, Judy! She’s actually getting quite brave.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

