jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 04.11.2011 Edition April 11, 2011

Posted by Toy Lady in Musings, random stuff.
trackback

Photobucket

First, I want to start out by saying – happy Yuri’s Night on Tuesday!

If you’re not sure what Yuri’s Night is, don’t feel bad.  I had to look it up, too, when I saw a reference to it.

Fifty years ago, the first human (Russian cosmonaut Yuri Gagarin) entered outer space.

And if you stop and think about how many men (mostly Russians) had previously been killed attempting this very thing, well, it only seems right to celebrate this man’s bravery, doesn’t it?

That said, Peeps and I will probably celebrate with an episode of Star Trek and maybe a Moon Pie.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Oh, oh!

I went to the public market this weekend, and boy, did I score!

Besides the basic pineapple, scallions and citrus fruits, I got some leeks (I love leeks!), some Jerusalem artichokes (a homely vegetable) and some ramps!

Ramps!  Do you know what this means?

Spring – it is here!

Photobucket
Photobucket

Meanwhile, the knitting is coming along.

I’ve used an online tutorial to make a pair of practice socks for both Peeps and me, and yet another pair of “real” socks, and now I’m branching out into a real, honest-to-goodness pattern.

Sock on!

Before you know it, I’ll be knitting sweaters for the grandchildren, just like my Grandma used to.  Except I don’t have grandchildren, of course.

Photobucket

Photobucket

I’m still working on my 101 Things – and with regard to #55, the word for this week is. . .I.  Ipse dixit. An assertion without supporting proof.  As in, “because I said so.”  Who among has not either said that as a parent, or heard it from his or her own parents?    No wonder today’s youth is so frustrated. . . .

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  And now that we’ve finally gotten real, live spring, it’s time to start watching the weather forecast when we plan our week’s meals.  After all, it’s time to think about dusting off the grill!

Photobucket

Monday – We thought we’d look to the archives for something meatless – and we found a recipe for Garlicky Kale and White Beans that I clipped out of the newspaper who-knows-when that comes from Jack Bishop’s Vegetables Every Day.   First, I got kale at the market, second, “garlicky” always scores points, and, well, we like Jack Bishop on America’s Test Kitchen, so why not?

Tuesday – We realized that we have not even looked at the last three food magazines we’ve received – shame on us!   Peeps took Cuisine at Home and immediately tagged a recipe for Breakfast Risotto.  This is exactly what it sounds like – a risotto made with breakfast sausage, seasoned with sage and maple syrup, and served with a fried poached egg on top.  For some reason, the man seems to be obsessed with breakfast for dinner. . . not that I’m against it or anything.

Wednesday – We don’t have swim class this week, but it’s still soup night.  I’ve got those Jerusalem artichokes (which, as it happens, aren’t artichokes at all, nor are they Jewish), and we kind of cobbled together a soup with them.  Peeps will bring home some fresh bread, I’ll toss a nice salad, and it will be very nice.

Thursday – Again with the magazines, this time, we’ve got a flank steak with herbed potatoes and green beans out of Cook’s Country – we had a flank steak in the freezer, we’ve got potatoes and I got some green beans this weekend – add that to a 60-degree forecast for grilling, and it’s like it was meant to be.

Friday – And it’s pizza night – Peeps brought home a bunch of leftover artichoke filling for me (he doesn’t even care for artichokes!), and what I didn’t use last week, I froze for this week.  Here’s a public service announcement:  ravioli filling works well in lasagna and is also tremendous on pizza.  I’m just saying, in case you ever have any leftover, that’s all.

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

