jump to navigation

Wrapped in Love April 13, 2011

Posted by Toy Lady in knitting, Surly Boy.
Tags: ,
trackback

The Boy has been having a bit of a rough time of it lately.  I’m not going to deny that many of his problems are of his own making, at least to some extent.  But that doesn’t make things easier for him, not really, does it?

And some things – being caught up in another layoff, for instance – really are outside his control.

As a mom, I do my best to keep my opinions to myself.

(Unless, of course, I’m asked for them.)

(Which, let’s face it, I seldom am.)

Photobucket

However, also as a mom, I still worry.  Silently, and sometimes, not so silently.

And my heart, well, it sort of breaks for him.  I don’t know how else to express it.

It’s a cold, cruel world out there sometimes, and notwithstanding what high school may have taught him, life doesn’t give you very many breaks just because you’re special.

Even if you are special.

Some days, I want to gather my little boy up, fix what’s broken, and just make everything better.  (And yes, some days I want to smack him.)

Mostly, though, I kind of want to stick a Ninja Turtles Bandaid on him – just for good measure.

But alas, I can’t do that anymore.

And even more importantly, I’ve come to realize that, at a certain point, trying to help him actually does him a disservice.

He can’t be the strong, independent young man he’s meant to be if his mommy is right there to pick up after him.

Photobucket

He can’t be responsible for himself if he’s not accountable for his actions.

Of course, that doesn’t mean I don’t love him just as much as ever – even though I can’t pick him up and cuddle him, or tickle him until he forgets about whatever’s bothering him, or wave a magic wand (or a Visa card) and make his problems go away, I do love him and want him to feel that sense of satisfaction, of well-being, that you only feel when you’ve weathered the storm.  When you’ve come up against a brick wall, found yourself stuck between that rock and the hard place, and figured out how to make it work anyway.

I can’t give that to him – he has to find it for himself.

What I can do, though, is remind him that I do love him.

Show him that love isn’t just about hugs and kisses, and fixing boo-boos.

Sometimes, love is simply taking the time and making the effort to make sure your little boy’s feet are warm and dry and wrapped in hand-knitted love.

Sometimes that’s just all you can do.

“It’s all right!” shouted Aslan joyously.  “Once the feet are put right, all the rest of him will follow.”

The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe – “What Happened About the Statues”

Comments

1. judy - April 13, 2011

hang in there you guys! thinking positive thoughts!

Thanks Judy!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

