jump to navigation

April Showers April 14, 2011

Posted by Toy Lady in random stuff.
trackback

It is cold.  Cold and rainy today.

I mean, Monday, it was almost 80 degrees, and before that, Saturday and Sunday were nearly 70 and sunny.

At least I think Sunday was nice.  Saturday sure was.

Saturday was so nice  (once I got  home from the public market, of course) I worked out in the yard a good part of the afternoon, bagging up leaves, turning compost, disposing of last year’s Swiss chard. . . just, you know, spring stuff.

Sunday, I sneezed.  A lot.

See, here’s the thing.  I’ve got some hay fever stuff going on.  I spend too much time outside, and nature gets all up in my face.

However, I’ve always done well with Sudafed – Sudo stops the sneezing.

Sadly, Sudo is nearly impossible to get anymore – stupid meth-heads, anyway.

I mean, yeah, if I go to the pharmacist, ask nicely, show ID and slip the pharmacist a tenner, then yeah, sometimes I can get my sudo.  Or I can make do with the “new” and “improved” version – pseudo-sudo, if you will.

That doesn’t work so great.  First, I’ve got to take it – in 6-hour intervals – for a day or two before I’m going to be spending any time outside.

Try predicting a nice, outside-worthy, day in the middle of a Rochester April.

No, really, try it.

And if I’m going to be outside for any longer than it takes for me to get to my car, I should keep taking these little red pills, all spring.

Or I sneeze.  And I sneeze some more.

Let’s face it – I sneeze my face off.

So the other night, there I was, sneezing my face off, and there the dog was, hanging around, up my butt lying at my feet.

And I sneezed and sneezed and sneezed some more.

I sneezed so many times that before I could get up and get a tissue or three, there I was, with a puddle of snot dripping on the dog’s head.  (Sorry for the image.)

And do you KNOW what that dog did?

He tried to wipe it off.  I mean, there he was, scraping the top of his head on the rug, trying to get it off him.

Yeah, it’s not so funny when someone slobbers on you, is it dog?  Heh.

And then I switched to Benadryl, and I stopped sneezing, but I’ve been feeling a little dopey lately.

Comments

1. Bee - April 14, 2011

Sounds like you’re having a pretty bad week. Sorry. 😦 Saw the post about Surly Boy was removed, too. Hope next week is better for you.

Oh, it’s back up. That was a scheduling, um, snafu, I guess. 🙄 Benadryl hangover . . . that’s my story and I’m sticking to it! 😉 Anyway – thanks, Bee.

Bee - April 16, 2011

Oh, I’m so glad that you’re feeling better. I was really worried about you, particularly after your heartfelt post about Surly Boy winked out of existance. SO glad to know it was a glitch and not something serious on your personal side. 🙂

Thanks – nothing more serious than my ineptitude, I fear. That, or the internet was broken for a while. 😉

2. Mazco - April 14, 2011

I’m hearing you on the meth-head thing. We used to use Shop-Rite’s version of Actifed. It worked for Cathy and me, and the best part it was dirt cheap. We had a box in every room. Then, the meth heads show up. The knock-off disappears, and then Actifed changes its formula.
Now, there is no pseudoephedrine in Actifed. And you want to know something – it cost most than the original, and it DOESN’T WORK!!!!!
Everytime I hear of a meth lab explosion, I think, “Good, my stuffy nose caused that!”

Well, it’s good that that congestion is good for something, I guess. 😉

3. Cristina - April 14, 2011

I’m sorry about the hay fever. I never knew I had allergies until I moved to the Caribbean for a year and a half and couldn’t stop sneezing. I used Benadryl at first, but I couldn’t take a mid-day nap every single day. 🙂 Then I discovered loratadine (which is the active ingredient in Claritin), and that worked beautifully.

I’m also pissed about the “pseudo-sudo” thing. We used to bring some back from Europe every time we went, but I’m not sure you can get it there easily anymore.

I tried Claritin several years ago, and it didn’t seem to do much for me. Maybe I should give it another try, though, huh?

4. Karen - April 14, 2011

I feel your pain. I hate the meth-heads as well.

You know, there’s a little part of me that says, hey, if they want kill themselves, that’s their problem. Why should I have to suffer for their bad choices?

5. judy - April 14, 2011

Sorry for the attention getting nosey story and just sorry it is your story! Have you ever considered the allergy shots? Worked well for my DD. Sending an extra box of tissue 🙂

You know, the funniest part was that goofy dog, he who slobbers all over me every chance he gets, actually trying to WIPE IT OFF – the nerve!

6. anne - April 14, 2011

Well at least make sure you sneeze on the dog. Isn’t it a rule of dogdom, that if they’re going to sneeze, it has to be shared with a human? Either directly in the face, or up the pant leg, it’s all good.

Up the pant leg? Really? And I thought the slobber on the butt trick was annoying. . .

7. anne - April 15, 2011

Our dog has this trait whereby, if she’s laying on her back, say for a belly rub, she starts to sneeze. So if you happen to be sitting on the couch, leaning over to apply belly rub, you’ll get a sneeze in the face. And if you happen to be sitting more upright, you’ll get it up the leg.

She doesn’t get as many belly rubs as she would like. 🙂

Ah, kind of like how I sneeze when I pluck my eyebrows. (Yeah, I don’t get it, but there you go.)


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

