jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 04.18.2011 April 18, 2011

Posted by Toy Lady in Musings, random stuff.
Tags:
trackback

PhotobucketWe’ve been thinking about a new bed for the dog – his old one (one of them, anyway) (he has three) has become kind of flat and just not as soft as he might like.  It certainly didn’t look very comfortable anymore.

So when Peeps and I went out and ran some errands this weekend, including a trip to Sam’s Club, and when we found the extra-large, memory foam, recycled material super-pouffy bed, we knew it was time.

It did take a little getting used to, but I’m pretty sure he’ll get the hang of it before too long!

Isn’t he a handsome boy, there  with his duck?

Photobucket

Photobucket

Don’t forget this week is the Third Thursday of the month! Please feel free to join us for this month’s Third Thursday event – just “borrow” a recipe (or any other anything) from someone else’s blog (or elsewhere) and tell us about it! Be creative – challenge yourself!

Complete details are here, and remember, the more the merrier!
Photobucket
Photobucket

Oh, it looks like we’re going to have a long-term tenant.  We, um, still haven’t taken the Christmas wreath down from the front porch (it’s so green and pretty and the porch will look so bare without it!).  Anyway, it seems that one of the neighborhood birds thought it might make the perfect place for a nest – right there by our front door, above the dog’s pile of balls (tennis balls, that is).  I guess we’ll be leaving the wreath up for a while longer.

Photobucket

Photobucket

I’m still working on my 101 Things – and with regard to #55, the word for this week is. . .J.  Jentacular. I can’t help loving this word – it’s an adjective that means (are you ready for this?) relating to breakfast.  An entire word having to do with that most important meal of the day!  So there you are at the diner, and the waitress says, “and how are the eggs today?” “Why, they’re absolutely jentacular, thank you!”  Oh, I do crack myself up sometimes!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Speaking of breakfasty goodness – last week’s breakfast risotto for dinner was interesting.  It’s funny – we loved the idea, and we sort of liked the final dish, but. . . we sort of didn’t.  We didn’t love it, that is.  We did like it enough, though, to want to fiddle with it a bit and try to get it right.

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  We’ve had an awful lot of cold and rain lately – more, I think, than is strictly necessary!   I’m hoping for a nice enough day to grill some burgers, though, if necessary, we can cook them in the house.  (But I’d much rather grill!)

Monday –  Jarly’s swim class was rescheduled for Monday this week, plus I’m taking a vacation day.  We’re probably going to go see a movie, come home, grab the dog, and go back out to swim, then we’ll pick up something on the way home – maybe the Mexican place on the way home.

Tuesday – I’m going to do a bit of experimenting – chicken breast with a chili-lime sauce, some rice and maybe a salad.  Or maybe some frozen peas.

Wednesday –  We’ve grown used to soup night on Wednesdays – so soup it is.  This week’s version was so quick to throw together, I’m almost embarrassed!  I took a quart of roasted veggie sauce that I stashed in the freezer last fall, added a quart and a half of chicken stock, then, when that was heated, I took the stick blender to it to help smooth out some of the chunks.  A bit of parm, some slightly under-cooked mini-ravioli (or any other pasta, I guess), and we’re done!  Now imagine that with some fresh, warm bread and a crisp salad.  Yeah.

Thursday – This is the day I hope we can grill – we’re going to do some burgers, baked beans (homemade, of course) and fries.  And, if there’s any left, more salad.  Nothing says “spring is coming” like a nice grilled burger, does it?

Friday – It’s Good Friday, but it’s still pizza night – I’m hoping the ramps I got at the market last week will last until then (since I forgot about them last week!)

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. Jennifer - April 18, 2011

Hi. I found your Where is George dollar!!! Like two years later…

How cool, Jennifer! I love the way currency travels so far. 🙂

2. judy - April 18, 2011

Yeah for Jarly! Happy pup. You are good people. AND you cook!

Aw, thanks, Judy. 🙂


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

