jump to navigation

Survey Says. . . April 19, 2011

Posted by Toy Lady in Home, random stuff.
trackback

I want to apologize in advance.

See, first, I took the day as a vacation day.  I had every intention, this weekend, of starting work on the curtains for the front entry, and I knew that this was not going to be a small job, and an extra day to finish would not be a bad idea.

Oh, but then I realized that Saturday, we needed to do some Sam’s Club shopping, which, as you may know, can be a bit of a production.  And Sunday, there was a movie we wanted to see (which, given the vile weather, we both wimped out and decided to postpone).   And then swim class was rescheduled to Monday.  (All of this basically meant that the Curtain Weekend has been pushed back to Easter weekend – when I’m off Friday anyway.)

So we got home from swim class, enjoyed our dinner, and then I sat down to write about the most wondrous pastrami sandwich (no, really – it truly was blog-worthy!), when the phone rang.

It was an unfamiliar “out of area” number – and, like an idiot, I picked it up.

Oh yes.

It was a “long distance” call from someone who did not want to sell me anything, didn’t want me to send any money, but just wanted to ask me a “few questions.”

See, there’s a “special election” coming up next month (another one) (we seem to have trouble keeping our politicians, I guess) for a seat in Congress.

*sigh*

25 minutes after the first question* – the one wherein I answered that I knew there was an upcoming election and I had no idea who was even running – after 25 minutes of answering yet more questions about “here are some things that have been said about this candidate, would that make you very likely to vote for him, somewhat likely to vote for him, neither likely or unlikely, somewhat unlikely or definitely unlikely to vote for him” and here are some things that that candidate has said, would you be very likely. . . ” and so on – after 25 minutes of my answering either that I had no idea, or that I’d probably vote for the one guy I’d even heard of (he runs for something in every election, I think) – then FINALLY, we got to the wrapping-it-up part.

Would you be interested in participating in online surveys, via an invitation sent to you by email, up to three times a year?

Sure, why not?

*  Yes, I know, I could have hung up on the guy, and probably should have.  But the dude’s got a job to do, and, really, how lousy must he already feel when he goes home at the end of the night?  I’m going to add to that?

Comments

1. Mazco - April 19, 2011

I’m a frequent victim of the telephone survey. One of my favorite replies was when someone asked me if I was male. I answered, “Well I am, now.” Silence on the other end, and then continued. I toned down the sarcasm, except when Mad magazine would have approved.

Okay, Maz, that’s funny. 🙂 I can never manage to come up with stuff like that – until a couple of hours later.

2. judy - April 19, 2011

You are a better person than I am. I have better things to do with my time thank you. Things are just sucky lots of places. Don’t pick up the phone because if it is important and/or personal “they” can leave a message. grrrr

Oh, I know, Jude. And you’re probably right. But MAN, the ringing phone makes the dog nuts! 🙄

3. sjbraun - April 19, 2011

I’m kind of ambivalent on phone surveys. When I hear about political poll results, I’m usually a little miffed that I wasn’t contacted. But when it’s a survey by a TV company or something, I’m not interested.

Usually, at the end of the survey, they’ll tell you WHO paid for it, but this time, they didn’t, I just realized. Huh. And no, I don’t care about the TV surveys either. We don’t even watch most of what more, um, mainstream people watch anyway.

4. judy - April 19, 2011

Maybe my comment needs some background. I did telemarketing for a year after I “retired” and was given instructions about being shouted at, hung up on, cursed, etc. It is part of the price. Not everyone is cut out for it, but if they are calling they know what to expect. A quiet hang up is the way to go. I probably would still be doing it if I had not moved to another state. I kind of liked it and I was selling something. I did make good money because I was nice. 🙂

Well of course you’re nice, Judy. 😉


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

