jump to navigation

April’s Third Thursday: Sometimes Things Just Work Out April 21, 2011

Posted by Toy Lady in Cooking, Cooking Challenge, Third Thursday.
trackback

The month is, once again, flying by!  Can you believe April is 3/4 of the way through?   And on top of that, Easter is this weekend!

Photobucket

Photobucket

A couple of weeks ago, on my bi-weekly trip to the public market, I managed to score some spinach.  Not just some spinach, mind you – a 5-pound bag of the stuff.

Do you know how much spinach weighs?  Not much, that’s how much.  In other words, a 5-pound bag of spinach is a LOT of spinach.

Photobucket

Or at least it is before it’s  cooked, anyway.

I also had a quart jar of dried chick peas that’s been sitting up there in the cupboard long enough, so I declared chick peas to be that week’s bean of the week.

Like you don’t have a bean of the week.

Photobucket

With spinach, much like lettuce, the clock is pretty much ticking when you bring it home.  Let that stuff go just a day too long, and you wind up with a bag of green, slimy goo.

Ideally, what I needed was something that would use chick peas and spinach – all in one fell swoop – so I did what sane person would do; I asked the internet!

Photobucket

Spinach and chick peas.  Chick peas and spinach.  I had in mind some sort of curry, which also would have been good, but Peeps preferred a Spanish-style version: espinacas con garbanzos which, coincidentally, translates to “spinach with chick peas.”  That fills the bill quite nicely, huh?

Photobucket

Since there are three of us, I kinda-sorta expanded the recipe – we sauteed half of the 5-pound bag of spinach, stashed part of that for later pizzas, and used the rest here.

We cooked the chick peas in the pressure cooker – and SERIOUSLY! – if you don’t use a pressure cooker for anything but beans, you’ll more than get your money’s worth.  I’m just saying.

Photobucket

Although, on the face of it, this dish sounds a little. . . weird, I’ll tell you, it was fantastic.

Between the beans and the toasted bread, there’s a heartiness that, for a household of non-vegetarians like us, was surprising.

The spinach was, of course, delightful.  We all like spinach anyway.

The spices – a blend of paprika, garlic and cumin, along with a pinch of red pepper and some garlic – were warm and cozy without being overly spicy.

Photobucket

We served it on a mound of whole wheat couscous – I guess I was still kind of hung up on the “Mediterranean” idea, though to be honest, I think I might have preferred either rice or even maybe some fried potatoes – that would be good, wouldn’t it?

I’m going to be honest here.  This was good – really good.  It fed the three of us – and we were hungry, too.  Plus there was a serving left over.  At least, there was a serving left until the next day when the Boy – that would be he who doesn’t like “stuff pretending to be meat” – apparently took care of that.

If you’d like to play along, leave a comment with a link to (or a description of) your Third Thursday project – tell us what you’re up to!  For loose guidelines, or if you want to check out some past Thursdays, they’re right here!

Comments

1. sjbraun - April 21, 2011

That does sound good – like something we’d eat here! So many things to comment on – the spinach turning slimy so fast, the pressure cooker for beans (I must need one …), and all your spices sound so good!
Here’s my entry:
http://girlsinwhitedresses.wordpress.com/2011/04/21/royal-wedding-scones/

Thanks for joining – I love your scones! I’m finding, more and more, that the market is kind of guiding our menu plans – I get spinach at the market, so we have a couple of spinach-y meals. I can’t wait until tomatoes are in season! And the pressure cooker – dude, cooking dried beans in less than 10 minutes (I think pinto beans are something like 3 minutes). I can barely open a can that fast! 😉

2. anne - April 21, 2011

I don’t like “stuff pretending to be meat” either. And chick peas are one of my least favorite. But I usually have almost-slimy spinach, and there are some chick peas feeling neglected and unloved in the pantry.

I guess it doesn’t count for a Third Thursday if I link to you, now does it? 🙂

Well, I won’t tell anyone. . . 😉

3. Monday Musings: 05.24.2011 Edition « Dark Side of the Fridge - May 23, 2011

[…] annual checkup instead.  I picked up some lovely, fresh spinach this week, and we so enjoyed the spinach with chick peas a few weeks ago that we decided to give it another go.  This time, though, we’re making more […]

4. Sara - May 23, 2011

I think I will give this a try. Never thought about pairing the two together before, but love them both individually! Thanks!

Sara, it really was fantastic! This time, we made more so we’d have leftovers for lunch. 🙂


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

