jump to navigation

A Day Without Rain April 29, 2011

Posted by Toy Lady in Garden, Home.
trackback

. . . has become a rare thing around here.

Over the past few weeks, ever since the snow melted, actually, I don’t think I’ve had more than two mornings in any given week that I didn’t come back from walking the dog soaked.  And I don’t mean soaked by dog slobber, either.  That comes later in the day.  (Do you know that that dog puts almost as much back into his water dish as he takes out?  Yeah, that’s a pleasant thought, isn’t it?)

For the first time in my memory, we had a tornado watch here in the Rochester area this week.  I was used to that sort of thing growing up in the Midwest – tornado drills were as common as fire drills when I was growing up!  But not here.  And of course, those who are familiar with the phenomenon know that, even if you don’t get the actual tornado, what you usually do get is some horrific wind.  And thunderstorms.  Oh boy, have we been getting thunderstorms lately!

All of this means, among other things, that the garden is WAY behind schedule.   (Boy, way to look at the big picture, huh?)

I was poking around out there this week, and I did see that the garlic is doing quite well.  Or it seems to be – I’ve never grown garlic, so I have no idea how it’s supposed to look right now.

The tarragon is already plotting to take on the oregano for title of King of the Herb Garden, but Peeps reminds me that it’s French, so I shouldn’t expect it to actually win that battle.  The mint – a new addition last year – is starting to make a showing, and it looks like, in a couple of years, it’s going to be giving the oregano and the tarragon a run for their money.  There is some random herb that I vaguely remember planting last year that’s come back but, unfortunately, I have no idea what it was/is,  but it certainly seems, um, aggressive friendly.   Sadly, the rosemary that I managed to nurse through last winter didn’t make it a second time.  Oh well – it was a long shot.  I’ll plant another.

We did manage an afternoon dry enough to till, but that was a couple of weeks ago.

Yes, I know, I’m an optimist, but mostly, it was because The Boy was home and looking for something to do.  That and I’d offered to pay him.  Amazing how quickly stuff gets done when there’s cash up for grabs and an empty gas tank.

Do you know what happens to a freshly tilled and composted garden after a couple of weeks of near constant rain, with a couple of ridiculously warm and sunny half-days in between?

The weeds are certainly quite happy.  There is that.

As are the squirrels.  And I shudder to think about what the neighborhood cats have thought about the soft, nicely turned earth.

Of course, the near-constant rain means a couple of not-so-great things.  Besides the weeds and the squirrels and the cats, that is.

I have gotten nothing – nothing! – in the ground yet.  I should have lettuce, spinach, and (maybe) peas and carrots in by now, but unfortunately, I’m just less than inclined to make mud pies than I could be, I guess.

And now the ground should really be tilled again before I try planting anything – and that’s assuming we can string together more than 12 dry hours.

So it’s that time of the year – the next few months of dirt under my fingernails, green-stained fingers (still can’t manage a green thumb, alas), and worrying and fretting about whether I planted the rows too close, or if the carrots were worth the garden space (they really weren’t) or if this next storm will bring hail, or whether the green beans have enough room, or WHAT is eating my tomatoes?

I can’t wait.

Comments

1. judy - April 29, 2011

Not sure what to say! You are battling mud. I am dealing with dust storms! Almost zero visibility in places around. Think I would almost rather deal with the mud. Can be split it 50/50?

Aw, Jude, I think you’re right! What a lousy thing. 😦


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

