jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 05.02.2011 May 2, 2011

Posted by Toy Lady in knitting, Musings, Shopping With Peeps.
Tags:
trackback

Photobucket

Woo hoo, it’s May!

And of course, I’m almost done with Peeps’s second sock – just what he needs heading into warm weather, huh?  A nice, purple variegated wool-blend sock.

You know, this sock knitting thing is actually pretty cool.  I wonder what a sweater would be like. . .

Photobucket

Photobucket

Mama Bird is doing well – she’s established her nest in our wreath, and she hangs out there, swooping out of the nest whenever anyone goes in or out the front door.

Poor thing – I think I’m going to stop at the garden shop this week and see if I can get some kind of suet hangy thing or something.  It can’t be easy for her.

Photobucket

PhotobucketA two-fer Shopping With Peeps installment!  Do you know who this guy is?

This is FABIO!  No one had ever heard of Favio Viviani until his appearance on Top Chef a couple of seasons ago, but now, he seems to be everywhere!

I hope he has as much success with the plaster-yourself-everywhere method of marketing as Rachel Ray has. . .

Photobucket

Also?

Blueberry Muffin Spoon Sized Shredded Wheats?

And it’s discontinued.

I am shocked.  Shocked, I tell you.

Yep.

I wonder how long before they discontinue the chocolate Special K?

Photobucket

Photobucket

We were walking the dog this weekend (Saturday was The Perfect Spring Day!), and we met Iggy – a dog who made our Big Lug actually look like a midget.

Wow, St. Bernards are big dogs, aren’t they?  Fortunately, once they formally met, they got along just fine.

Photobucket

Photobucket

I’m still working on my 101 Things– and with regard to #55, the word for this week is. . . L.  Lability – a state of instability, subject to lapse or error, unsteadiness.  Interesting –  I think know a few too many people who exist in that state.  (Not naming names or anything, of course!)

 Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  We’ve finally hit May, and, hopefully, spring is here at last.  While we’re certainly looking forward to hauling out the grill and enjoying some great summertime dinners, we’ll be kind of sorry to put away some of our cold-weather favorites.

Monday – I happened to have half a pork shoulder to dispose of this weekend, so Peeps and I discussed whether to grind it into sausage or roast it.  Since sausage required more work, we went with slow-roasted route – we’ll dump a 2.5 pound bag of baby carrots in to roast and probably some baby potatoes.

Tuesday – The other half of the pork shoulder went to make Chinese BBQ – this one with some sauteed broccoli and, of course,  some rice.  I know we’re doing pork twice in a row, but really?  How can you pick just one?

Wednesday – It’s swim class week, which makes it soup night.  We’ve experimented with a pink bean soup with corn – we made it in the pressure cooker with ingredients from the pantry, which means it took about half an hour to make.  However, it’s May, and I think we’re going to have to come up with an alternative to soup night for a while – I’m thinking salad night.  Any ideas out there in the Internet?

Thursday – The May/June issue of Cook’s Illustrated came last week, and before I even had a chance to look at it, Peeps declared that we needed to make their barbecued chicken kebobs.  We also received the newest Cooking Light and thought the Sweet Onion Casserole would work nicely with chicken, along with a salad.

Friday – Yay, it’s pizza night!  I’ve still got some ricotta-artichoke filling the freezer that will be great on pizza – the guys will no doubt go with the pepperoni-mozzarella, which is also good.  And the dog will be enjoying his Kong toy.

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. Keri - May 2, 2011

Visiting from Menu Plan Monday! On our busy afternoon day, I usually make casseroles. Its something I can put together in the morning and then just toss in the oven for 20 minutes after we get home. Our favorite is bowtie pasta, ground beef, and lots of cheese.

Keri, thanks for visiting! Casseroles are definitely a consideration – we’d have to figure out the timing, though – I think we’ve gotten spoiled this winter by having the soup hot and waiting for us when we walk in the door on Wednesday evenings. 😀

2. judy - May 2, 2011

I hope your grilling weather is truly in sight. My DD feels the same way. And I love Peeps’ socks. They look so warm. As always, enjoyed the Monday morning read when I get up!

OH, thanks, Judy. And I hope your (gasp) snow doesn’t keep up. That is just so so wrong. 😥

3. Barb Cooper - May 3, 2011

SO IMPRESSED with the sock!! WOW!

Aw, thanks, Barb. 🙂 I’m not sure I’m thrilled with the yarn, but it’s certainly interesting, isn’t it? 😆


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

