jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 05.09.2011 Edition May 9, 2011

Posted by Toy Lady in Musings, random stuff, Shopping With Peeps.
trackback

Photobucket

First off, I want to pat myself on the back a bit – I finished Peeps’s socks!  He calls them his “Secure In His Manhood” socks – but he did choose the “rose quartz” variegated . . . though granted, his options at the time were slightly limited.

And it looks like Jarly wants a pair too.

Photobucket

Photobucket

This was a Public market week – I love that Spring is at the market, too!

I got what’s most likely the last of the ramps, along with the first of the kale, some fresh spinach and new potatoes and plenty of miscellaneous and sundry other vegetables.

Then I ran out of cash, so I came home.

Photobucket
Photobucket

Peeps has taken to calling our porch bird “Hortense.”  Hortense is quite shy – whenever we set foot on the porch, whether it’s coming out of the house or coming up the steps,  she flies away from her nest and glares from the tree in the neighbor’s yard.

I don’t know how she’s going to manage when she has a house nestful of squawking chicks. . .

Photobucket
Photobucket

Time for another fascinating installment of Shopping With Peeps!

We were doing our weekly grocery shopping, when we happened upon some 2-gallon plastic barrels with spigots.  They were dispensers with about a pound of powdered drink mix – just add water!

Except in the case of the Margarita Drink Mix – there you start with 6 cups of tequila, then add water and the Mix.

Um, I think we can do better, don’t you?

Photobucket Photobucket

We enjoyed our pork roast last week, and this time, we doubled up on the carrots and added a bunch of potatoes and a couple of sad old parsnips I found in the fridge drawer under the celery.

Shockingly, there was a good amount of the roasty veggie mixture left, so I saved it up until the weekend, when I slightly mashed them into patties, fried them, and dumped a poached egg on each.

Now THAT’s a Mother’s Day breakfast!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Do you know how to tell it’s Spring?

Peeps finally hauled out the smoker!

We certainly enjoyed a mess of baby back ribs, that’s for sure!

Photobucket Photobucket

I received a kind of odd package in the mail the other day.

It’s a commemorative papal rosary – to commemorate the beatification of the late Pope.   Do you know that for years, I’d read that word as “beautification” – I kind of had this picture in my mind kind of like that scene in Wizard of Oz – you know, the one right when they get to the Emerald City, where Dorothy and Company are getting all cleaned and stuffed and curled and ready to see The Wizard.

Yeah, I think I’ll be passing this on to a Catholic friend who may actually know what to do with it.

Photobucket

Photobucket

I’m still working on my 101 Things – and with regard to #55, the word for this week is. . .M.  Manichean.  Have you ever known known someone with a “black and white” view of the world?  No shades of grey?  Well, now you know that there’s a word for that, and that it comes from the leader of an ancient Persian religion.  Maybe that might help explain some of Iran’s issues?

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  Since it looks like, now that it’s May, Spring has finally made an appearance, our menu plan is kind of in transition, I guess.  We’re going to get used to lighter, more grillable meals – it’s going to be rough, but I have confidence!

Photobucket

Monday – Peeps has been bitten by the barbecue bug!  We picked up a pork shoulder, which is resting, nicely rubbed, in the fridge.  After a few hours on the smoker (Monday’s his day off), it should be good to go with a salad and the onion casserole we never got made last week.

Tuesday – I found this sauteed tilapia with Swiss chard that sounded interesting, only I’ll replace the Swiss chard with some new kale – when it’s this young, it’s just about as tender as chard anyway.  There’s something about the idea of combining greens, fish and tarragon that just intrigues me.

Wednesday – No swim class this week, but, until we figure out something we can get on the table instantaneously for Wednesdays, we’ll shift to lighter soups for the warmer weather – this week, a curried lentil soup that I dug out of the archives.

Thursday – We pulled a package of Korean beef out of the freezer – one of our all-time favorite quick and easy dinners!  By Thursday evening, we’re tired and the last thing we  want to do is fuss over dinner – this is perfect with a little rice and something green!

Friday – And Friday brings pizza night – I got spinach at the market, which will please the Boy – he likes spinach with feta on his pizza.  I’m not adverse to it either, to be honest. Peeps usually sticks with his tried-and-true cheese and pepperoni, and, of course, the dog is happy with his Kong.  Everyone wins!

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. mazco - May 9, 2011

The Big Lug looks so cute and innocent in that photo. He seems to be a big ole teddy bear.

He’s my cutie patootie. 🙂 I had to stick a kibble on Peeps’s ankle to get him to even notice the socks – fortunately, he was very good about waiting for me to give him the “OK” so I could get the picture.

2. judy - May 9, 2011

Fun stuff today. Love the SOCKS and I think Peeps does too! and that DOG. WHAT A HAM.

I am glad spring is spring there. It has been a long winter!

Yes, Judy, it certainly has been a long winter, hasn’t it? How’s it on your side of the country?


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

